Pet Peeve Month: I’m Spending Time With God, So I Won’t be Blogging/Facebooking/Emailing/LinkedIn-ing/Tumblr’ing/Doing Any of the Things You Are Currently Doing

Yeah.

OK, come on now. You know you’ve read these things.

Some guy starts a blog. After two months he notes that no one really seems to care and frankly, he’s run out of ideas to write about anyway, so he quits the blog. The reason given for no longer blogging is, “God is leading me deeper. He wants me to come apart and be with Him. So, I’ve decided I won’t be blogging anymore.”

Approximately 87% of all now-defunct Christian blogs end with this sort of post. Then there are the number of people who do this with Facebook and all the other social media outlets.

“Sorry oh lay-people around me, thou whom hath not desired to seek His face, God wants more of me so I wilt not be sharing myself with you any longereth.”

Oh, please.

I mean, that’s fine. I have no problem with people wanting more of God and having this revealed in a practical demonstration of priorities, all for it. Wish it happened more.

What I do get tired of is the guys who quit to be with Jesus and feel the need to lecture the rest of us still blogging/facebooking/etc, who, quite frankly, just like to write.

Anytime you have to explain your next move with Jesus, check to make sure Jesus has anything to do with it.

Remember the Sermon on The Mount? All that stuff about what you do in your practical workings of faith, do it privately? Yeah. He meant that.

Just go do it. Having to explain your planned spiritual growth is merely a way to feel good about yourself by letting other people know about your intention to spiritually grow.

This is much easier than actually growing and waiting to see if anyone notices. Since real growth is harder and takes, like, forever, we don’t do it. So, we give our alms before men and we have our reward.

That reward is not worth it in comparison to the rewards God gives for humble, quiet dedication to Him. Do this and whether you blog or Facebook or not is entirely irrelevant.

3 thoughts on “Pet Peeve Month: I’m Spending Time With God, So I Won’t be Blogging/Facebooking/Emailing/LinkedIn-ing/Tumblr’ing/Doing Any of the Things You Are Currently Doing”

Comments are closed.