Distinctive Ignorance

People are dumb. This point is not up for debate. Even I’m dumb, we’re all dumb. But I have also found there are differences of dumbness and these differences are very important.

Malachi is a book that gets little attention and that’s too bad. if there is any book that is highly relevant to modern American churchianity, this is it.

He points out all their faults and their response, over and over again, is “What? How have we done that?” To every charge they respond, “How have we done that?”

They are completely ignorant of their sin. They have no clue. Can’t see the point. See no basis for the charge. Who me? They go so far as to say that those who do evil are actually good with God. Sound familiar?

Contrast that with Jesus’ words in Matthew 25. When I was hungry you gave me food, when I was thirsty you gave me drink. Here’s the response of the righteous:

“Then shall the righteous answer him, saying, Lord, when saw we thee an hungred, and fed thee? or thirsty, and gave thee drink?”

The response of the righteous is, “What? How were we ever good? I don’t remember that.” They are completely ignorant of their good deeds. They have no clue. Can’t see the point. See no basis for the charge. Who me?

I love it. What we are ignorant of is highly telling.

4 thoughts on “Distinctive Ignorance”

  1. Hey Pastor Jeff! Love your blog (Kelly & Steve first told me about it), and I typically share a bit from it on Music Through the Night Weekend (Moody Radio) on a regular basis. Great stuff! Just curious…do you only read the KJV? Your very modern writing style coupled with the KJV is quite a meeting of the old & new worlds–I was raised with the KJV, just wondering.

  2. Thanks for using my stuff, Roger. Glad you find it helpful. I was raised memorizing in King James so I think of verses in king james and use the concordance in king james because I can’t find verses in other versions! I use it because I know it best and have yet to find a version that inspires me to re-memorize all my verses! Plus I just like the way it sounds.

  3. I loved that… the righteous are unaware of their good deeds “When did I do that?”
    I plan on sharing your post on my blog as well. Terrific.

    Btw, I’m a KJV fan as well, the only other version that could ever tempt me away from my KJV is the ESV.

    Thanks for the post, and for blogging.

Comments are closed.