Spiritual Service is Tough Even for Spiritual People

People often joke that some Christians act on the premise “if you’re laughing you must be sinning.”

Although I wouldn’t go that far, I would throw out a caution that if your flesh is totally enjoying something, odds are, you’re in pretty good sin mode.

At the same time, if you are not fully enjoying what you are doing, odds are you’re getting pretty close to spiritual activity.

I have heard many times people make assumptions that since I’m a pastor I must really like serving people, visiting people, studying, praying, working with kids, etc.

Now I will say this, I enjoy these things more than I used to, but still, much of my flesh is in outright rebellion while partaking in these activities. The idea that “spiritual” people absolutely love doing spiritual things and that’s why they should do them, is goofy.

This usually gets taken further that “I will wait until I enjoy these things before I do them.” Good luck on that one.

Doing spiritual things is a struggle for anyone’s flesh I don’t care how many gifts you have or don’t have. The Bible tells us what is right and we are supposed to do it whether we find it enjoyable or not. Period. The end.

“The man who does as he likes is the greatest slave. The man who never does as he likes is God’s free man.”
–G. Campbell Morgan

2 thoughts on “Spiritual Service is Tough Even for Spiritual People”

  1. This post reminds me of a joke.

    Wife tells her husband, time to get up dear, you need to get ready for church.
    Husband says to his wife, I really don’t want to go to service this morning.
    Wife replies, honey you need to wake and get ready.
    Husband answers, I just want to sleep in, I really don’t feel like attending church this morning.
    Wife; with hands on hips, honey you need to get up and go to church, you ARE the pastor after all.

Comments are closed.