Wicked Questions

Wicked people are destined for hell. This is a clear teaching of Scripture. That being the case we should be on the lookout for how Scripture describes wicked people so we make sure we aren’t one of those.

Job talks about wicked people and he says there are two main questions wicked people ask:

“What is the Almighty, that we should serve him? and what profit should we have, if we pray unto him?”

In today’s English, it would read like this:

1) Why should I listen to God? I can do what I want. Get off my back. I don’t have to serve anyone. Who is God to tell me what to do?

2)  If I can’t get everything my way there’s no point to asking God. What’s the use of praying, it doesn’t work anyway?

Do these questions have any root in our lives? If you are hung up on whether you need to do good works, serve God, follow His commands and also wonder why to pray, you just might be in trouble.

This, however, does not mean that doing good works and praying is a sign you are saved either! Be careful of wigging out.

We are saved by grace through faith and the result is service to God and making request in all things to God. It’s what happens, which is why wicked people do neither.