Proof Christ Knows You

Many folks think they know Jesus Christ. They base this knowledge on many things, few of which are Scriptural. They’re stuff like this:

*I am happy
*I get good parking spots
*I score many a touchdown
*People like me
*I go to church and stuff
*I went on a mission trip
*I taught Sunday School
*I was friends with the pastor’s son

You know what I mean. Our salvation has been accomplished by Christ, He is our sure foundation. 2 Timothy 2:19 says, “Nevertheless the foundation of God standeth sure, having this seal, The Lord knoweth them that are his.”

How cool is that? We can put our every confidence in Him. He knows those that belong to Him. The real question is not whether you know God but whether He knows you (Galatians 4:9)!

I guess we better make sure we are known of Him. How do those that are His know they are His? Allow 2 Timothy 2:19 to continue, it wasn’t done before, there are two sentences in that verse.

“And, let every one that nameth the name of Christ depart from iniquity.”

A good indicator of whether you know Christ is if you are departing from iniquity. “Depart” means to be absent from. “Iniquity” means all that is not right, unrighteousness. You skip the class on unrighteousness, play hooky for a good cause.

The Bible kinda sorta hammers this point. What fellowship has light with darkness, righteousness with unrighteousness? Come out from among them and be separate. Awake to righteousness and sin not. And hereby we do know that we know him, if we keep his commandments. My friends are those who do my will, etc.

The problem is that we will stick with the part of 2 Timothy 2:19 that appeals the most to our flesh. We stick with Christ is my foundation, He knows me, I’m in, take it easy.

The other guys stick with part 2: depart from iniquity and let me tell you what that means: be like me. These are the legalists who tack on Christ as an afterthought.

You gotta have both: God’s choosing and drawing along with personal responsibility. If sanctification is not occurring, if you are not being transformed, changed into the image of Christ even now, watch out. When Christ moves in to a life, cleansing always happens.

God has given us a test to know if we belong to God, if He knows us. The question remains: do you pass?

3 thoughts on “Proof Christ Knows You”

Comments are closed.