Does the Bible Answer All Our Questions? Hardly

There has been another Bible-based controversy in the Republican Campaign season.

Apparently a video was spread by the Cruz Campaign showing Marco Rubio disparaging the Bible. Upon further review, Rubio did no such thing. The video was removed and the staffer who posted it was fired.

The video was about Rubio commenting on the Bible’s ability to answer our questions. Although I don’t care about the presidential race too much, I found Rubio’s quote of interest.

“I know exactly what I said to that young man. I said, ‘The answer to every question you’ll ever have is in that book,’ and then I pointed to the Book of Proverbs, which he was reading, and then I said ‘Particularly that one,'” Rubio told reporters in Nevada.

I find this statement interesting. “The answer to every question you’ll ever have is in that book.”

What am I having for lunch? What shirt should I wear? Why is the sky blue? On the most basic level the statement is wrong. But it’s even wrong on “deeper” questions. Why am I suffering? Why do I have cancer? What happens the second after I die?

I think this statement comes from a sincere effort to uphold the Bible, which is fine, but why we have to use hyperbole, and/or lies to do so is unnecessary.

The Bible itself tells us that God has not revealed everything to us. This clearly has to mean there will be many questions the Bible will not answer.

The secret things belong unto the Lord our God: but those things which are revealed belong unto us and to our children for ever

“Things” is plural. There are many things that are secret, things we don’t know, things God didn’t tell us. Part of faith is knowing we don’t know it all, but we trust the One who says He does.

Job had many questions. Note how God did not answer them!

There are questions all over the Bible, many of which are not answered. Some are answered with “Who are you to ask that?” The Bible doesn’t answer all our questions; it even throws questions back at us!

To say that it does answer all our questions just sets us up for ridicule. It is also evidence of self-righteousness. What Rubio probably meant was, “I can answer all your questions.”

In the book of Job, the guy with the questions didn’t get in trouble; the guys with all the answers did.

This is not some sort of anti-Rubio campaign statement. This is merely a call for some integrity and care when we make such statements that are so easily falsifiable.

God does not need our hyperbolic defenses. He just needs us to trust Him. Go and do that.

