Trump, Cruz, and Playing Christians for Votes

The presidential races are heating up going into the caucus season.

As I’ve said before, I have not voted for quite some time now, and am currently not even registered to vote. This is a decision I made for myself, to keep me calm, to eliminate ruffling feathers unnecessarily, and various other things. I am not telling you to follow my lead.

One of the struggles I had with voting (Other than the typical fear, panic, anxiety, and stress when the political winds blow against my guys), is figuring out how I could have a love for people who I can’t stand politically.

I struggled with maintaining Christian principles in the face of political weirdness. Even the guys I voted for ended up doing things I thought were inconsistent with my Christian principles, yet I put my name on them.

Christians are pandered to in elections. Politicians know they need votes. They will say next to anything to get Christians to vote for them.

Donald Trump, for instance. This guy has no Christian sense at all. I mean, seriously. He doesn’t. The most recent example is his quote of a verse in “Two Corinthians” at Liberty University. During his speech to Liberty University (Jerry Falwell’s baby), Trump used the word “hell” several times in a not so Christian way. A way that is, incidentally, a violation of the code of conduct for Liberty University students!

Even when he’s trying to sound Christian he can’t pull it off.

The closest Republican to Trump is Ted Cruz. His father was a pastor, so he at least has some background. He has also been, whether you agree with what he says or not, consistent in his Christianesque message.

I’m not sure I like where he goes with Christianity though. Allow me to quote an article on him:

Sen. Ted Cruz’s campaign for president has featured strong references to faith and Christianity, which he says will help restore the country to greatness.

I hate it when people use the Bible, Christ, or the Gospel as a means to turning earthly gain. A simple reading of the New Testament will clearly demonstrate that Christianity doesn’t really care much about your earthly success or your “greatness.”

Yet Cruz thinks Christianity is the tool to fix America. This will backfire. Cruz belongs to a camp called Dominionism. They believe that Christians should get in power and enforce Christian morals by force of law.

This is not good. Cruz’s father, a pastor, appears to be slightly crazy with his doctrine.

In a sermon last year at an Irving, Texas, megachurch that helped elect Ted Cruz to the United States Senate, Cruz’ father Rafael Cruz indicated that his son was among the evangelical Christians who are anointed as “kings” to take control of all sectors of society, an agenda commonly referred to as the “Seven Mountains” mandate, and “bring the spoils of war to the priests”, thus helping to bring about a prophesied “great transfer of wealth”, from the “wicked” to righteous gentile believers.

Dominionism apparently believes that Christians can usher in the Kingdom of God. Once we turn the tide, Christ will come back and put down all opposition and then we live happily ever after.

I disagree with this theology and I wouldn’t entrust power to anyone who believes such things.

I think the separation of Church and State is a fine thing both ways. Let the church be the church and let the state be the state. Whenever the two are mixed, people get hurt, and sound-doctrine always takes a hit.

So, the two front-runners of the Republican party are both loony in their attempts at Christianity. At least the Democrats, who at their last presidential convention allegedly “booed God,” pretty much avoid the subject. Although Hillary can’t resist quoting a verse or two when convenient.

The bottom line is that politicians pander to Christians and Christians get excited when this happens and assume there are politicians who care about Christ.

They don’t. They care about votes.

It is better to trust in the Lord than to put confidence in princes.

Put not your trust in princes, nor in the son of man, in whom there is no help.

***If this post bothers you, just be glad I don’t talk politics more. I do this as a favor to me and you.

6 thoughts on “Trump, Cruz, and Playing Christians for Votes”

  1. Not into politics myself. Learned a long time ago that politicians can not be trusted. They will lie and cheat and steal for power.

    That said, I do hold to a post millennial view and believe the gospel will be victorious. This was the view of John Wesley and the early Methodists. It was driven by their convictions that Christ died for all men.

  2. Although I believe Christ died for all men, I don’t see the Bible giving a rosy picture of the future. Wesley was on to many good things, postmillennialism was not one of them, in my opinion. I am saying more about this tomorrow in a post I wrote earlier. Telling you just so you don’t think I’m coming after you!

  3. No worries. A good read on this is Vic Reasoner’s book, The Hope of the Gospel. He builds not just an Arminian approach to the saving work of Christ but toward an eschatology of hope and victory. It was this book (among others) that ultimately swayed me to post millennialism.

  4. Jeff, I’m with you…I don’t get involved in politics either (and even if I wanted to, I’m a Canadian).

    But I listened to a few of Trumps speeches, just to see what all the noise was about. He IS entertaining, I’ll give him that much. But if you carefully think through some of his promises, I don’t see how they could practically work.

    ie. the idea to stop outsourcing work to other countries is a good idea. A country should protect its long-term stability by encouraging it’s own industries, so it does not become utterly dependent on other countries in critical areas, and thus become vulnerable.

    So, one of his suggestions was to stop Ford from building their factory in Mexico. Okay, so you do that. But labor in America is probably 10x more expensive. So Ford parts end up costing 10x more. Nobody can afford them, so Ford goes out of business, and all the jobs are lost. Hunh?

    I sense that whatever is done in this line is probably “too little, too late”. America has gotten used to a certain lifestyle (and the world is following suit), and they don’t want to change. So we are dependent on cheap labor from poorer countries to sustain that lifestyle.

    The only workable solution would be to go back to a simpler lifestyle, and strip ourselves of all the vanities and luxuries. It would be tough. Most people wouldn’t go for it and there would be rebellion all over the place.

    I’m not singling out his policies, I think all candidates face the same problem. Real Christianity does offer a solution, but that solution involves crucifixion, and the natural man does not want to die.

  5. Yes, Trump is entertaining and speaks his mind, which is refreshing. It would be more refreshing if his mind had better things in it! I agree, Christianity is the only solution to the problems of this earth.

Comments are closed.