Sharing Your Opinions May Keep You Stupid

The internet has about fried me.

I had so many dreams when I first hooked up to the World Wide Web back in 1995. I had web pages on GeoCities and blogs and all sorts of stuff. I was going to win the world in the relative comfort of my desk chair!

Then along came 1996 when I got my first internet troll. People are the same on the internet as they are in real life. Except worse, since there is relative anonymity.

The internet has now become a place to badger people and tell everyone every single thought that enters your head. The internet, rather than becoming a place of infinite resources to discover knowledge, has become a place of offended, knee-jerk diatribing.

I must pause. My knee is jerking me into an anti-internet diatribe.

I apologize.

Anyway, people have been expressing opinions for a long time. I imagine the first cave painting was actually a diagram in an argument about the best way to kill a woolly mammoth.

mammoth“See you keep sticking the spear in his rear end. That won’t work, you have to go on the side.”

One of the things I’ve noticed about people who share umpteen opinions a day is that they rarely make sense.

In fact, there seems to be a connection between not knowing what you’re talking about and sharing your opinions.

The less you know; the more opinions you share. The more opinions you share; the less you will know.

This happens because, once you’ve shared your opinion, you don’t really care about facts. All you care about is defending your opinion. Learning facts will only get in the way. When you’re talking; you’re not listening.

Perhaps you think I am showing my own ignorance by expressing my opinion on opinion-sharing fools. But alas, this is not my opinion, this is God’s Word:

A fool takes no pleasure in understanding,
    but only in expressing his opinion.

Next time you have the urge to share an opinion, make sure you know what you’re talking about. Is being more stupid an OK result for having shared your opinion? Are you more interested in defending your opinion than knowing the facts?

It’s OK to keep a thought to yourself. Try it some time. You might find it to be very freeing.

