One of the Most Amazing Quotes in the Bible

“Throw this in the garbage” I said to one of my kids.

“What garbage?” I am asked as I am pointing right at the garbage can.

“Clean the windows.” I say another time to one of my kids.

“What windows?” I am asked while pointing at the windows, because typically windows are difficult to find.

“Go clean your room.” I say.

“What? My room?”

Ever notice how people are awful listeners? They are especially awful listeners when you are telling them what to do. Previously intelligent, straight-A students will momentarily lose all comprehension and sensibility to avoid doing work.

We just don’t listen well.

One of the most astounding statements made by anyone in the Bible is by Philip, a disciple of Christ. Here’s his quote

We have found him, of whom Moses in the law, and the prophets, did write, Jesus of Nazareth, the son of Joseph.

That is amazing to me! Philip read the Scriptures, and by “scriptures” I mean what we call the Old Testament, the Law and the Prophets. He wasn’t even reading the good parts!

Yet Philip knew the Law and the Prophets so well that when He saw Jesus Christ he thought, “Hey, that’s the guy I read about!”

That is simply amazing to me. The religious leaders, who also knew the Law and the Prophets, ended up killing Christ!

In fact, Gentiles, who never read anything in the Law and the Prophets, got Christ often before any Jewish people did! It was almost better to have not read the Law and Prophets!

But not for Philip. Oh for the reading comprehension abilities of Philip! With all our hearing and reading, are we getting the actual point?

One thought on “One of the Most Amazing Quotes in the Bible”

  1. I appreciate this thought. Philip was just an ordinary man, so this kind of response is accessible to all of us.

    However, recognizing Jesus in the prophecies meant cutting across a lot of common misunderstandings and misinterpretations in the religious world of that time. It would have cost him a sacrifice to follow Christ.

Comments are closed.