“Be Still and Know That I Am God” Is A Great Philosophy

“Be still and know that I am God.”

What a beautiful phrase! One of the more precious statements of Scripture.

Because of its awesomeness, it gets quoted a lot. When we quote things a lot, we often assume we know what they mean.

I was reading in Martyn Lloyd-Jones the other day when he mentioned this verse. He said “be still” means “give up.” Really? That kind of shocked me. I made a note of it to look it up later, because, yeah, cool. I like that!

Giving up is a fair summation of my take on life! As the old Christian rocker, Steve Taylor, once said, “since I gave up hope, I feel a lot better.”

“Be still” means “give up?” Let’s see if it’s true!

“Be still” is from a Hebrews word that can be translated numerous ways. Forsake. Fail. Weaken. Down. Go. Alone. And, most beautifully mixed in there are “idle” and “slothful!”

Even better! Be lazy and know that I am God!

Now, before we get too excited, it doesn’t mean we don’t work and take care of our responsibilities. Plenty of other Scriptures make that clear.

But when it comes to personal safety, seeing culture fall apart, and the nations and kings doing their things that nations and kings have always done, yeah, give up.

This planet will always have messed up stuff going on. There is coming a day when God will take His people to a place where He will provide abundantly.

Until then, give up on your dreams of having it all here. Give up seeking refuge in other places. Run to God and let Him do your protecting.

2 thoughts on ““Be Still and Know That I Am God” Is A Great Philosophy”

  1. This would fit in well with Jesus’ statement in the Sermon on the Mount:

    Matthew 6
    25 Therefore I say unto you, Take no thought for your life, what ye shall eat, or what ye shall drink; nor yet for your body, what ye shall put on. Is not the life more than meat, and the body than raiment?
    …etc..

    It doesn’t mean to get sloppy and careless about your clothes and food, but not to make them the main goal. Focus on Him and what He is saying, and His work for this time.

    I was also reminded about a TED talk by Jon Jandai, “Life is easy, why do we make it so hard?” He didn’t directly mention faith in God as the answer, but his outlook was more in that direction.

  2. Yup. The deny yourself, no longer I who lives, be a living sacrifice stuff gets little air time these days, yet it is a central theme of New Testament faith. You have to give up on your stuff if you want to do His stuff. No man can serve two masters.

Comments are closed.