WWJB: What Would Justin Beliebe?

Justin Bieber, who recently had a string of rebellion, has allegedly gotten right with God and reformed his life.

The singer has reportedly apologized for his past behavior, reconciled with his mother, and was baptized last year.
The 21-year-old singer has now cited scripture and written about his relationship with God in an Instagram post.
“I’m not religious nor do I think I have ANYTHING figured out that’s why I call out on God to help me through what I can’t do on my own. Developing my relationship with God has been the coolest thing I’ve experienced, to know that I’m not alone and I don’t have to live in fear.”
Here’s the thing: these pop star people go through a “Jesus phase” from time to time. I’m all for them coming to Christ and getting right with God through the Gospel. That’s fine.

I just wish there were a little more humility. A little more caution. A little more: shut your mouth and let your life prove it stuff.

As has happened in the past, many of these Jesus Phases are followed by horrible living, which does nothing for the credibility of the person, nor anything that helps out the overall testimony of “religion.”

I hope he’s sincere, but everything within me doubts it. Everything he said above was a Christian cliche, nothing there gives evidence of anything personally going on.

But hey, I’m just a cynical old man, what do I know?

3 thoughts on “WWJB: What Would Justin Beliebe?”

  1. >I’m just a cynical old man, what do I know?

    Actually, you’re a minister of the gospel, who deals with sinners all the time, so I think you DO know something! Probably it’s just the humility you wish Bieber had, coming out.

    >”…nor do I think I have ANYTHING figured out…”

    I was like that before. What I found was that when I couldn’t figure out anything, then I didn’t get much. What God did was point me to sources that helped me “figure it out”, like the Evangelist in Bunyan’s “Pilgrim’s Progress.”

    What would impress me greatly, is if Bieber stepped down from being a “teen idol” and called the whole thing “dung”, like the apostle Paul. That would be most impressive. However, it would bring in royalties.

  2. Indeed. That’s what I don’t see, the faith resulting in any sort of visible change, any sort of repentance or change in content of lyrics or manner of acting. Not that I’m the ultimate judge, but the Bible says change comes with new life, so if the new life looks like the old life, then it’s not new life. Time will tell.

Comments are closed.