If You Like Change, You Should Change

Because life is vain and mundane, we tend to like change.

We are surrounded by options because who wants to eat the same food every day? Who wants to listen to the same music every day? What wants to watch the same movie over and over?

Kids do, that’s who.

Kids like stuff and then keep wanting that stuff. I always liked pizza and, as a kid, could never figure out why my parents didn’t just have pizza for supper every day. How awesome would that be?

But parents say “you’d get sick of pizza if you had to eat it every day.”

Well, even as a kid, I was man enough to take that chance.

Jesus Christ tells us to have the faith of a little child. Children don’t get tired of the same thing over and over. In fact, they revel in the same thing over and over.

Adults get bored. We know about options and choice. We want new stuff, not the same old stuff.

When Israel wandered in the Wilderness they wanted food options. At one point they desired to go back to bondage in Egypt where they at least had a menu. Out in the wilderness it was just bread. Bread, bread, bread.

Don’t even get them started on water.

When it comes to food, I very much have the faith of a child. It frustrates my wife. She asks me before grocery shopping, “What do you want for supper this week?” Every week my answer is “Spaghetti.”

I have eaten the same basic breakfast for many years and the exact same lunch for more years than that. I’m a simple man. I’m not hard to please. I don’t need many options.

As a good Christian, I let my natural proclivities prove my spiritual maturity.

There is one fundamental change we all need–you must be born again. After that change, other changes will come in as you cease to be you and begin to be more like Christ.

That is good change.

But change for the sake of change, as a habit, is bad.

My son, fear the Lord and the king;
Do not associate with those who are given to change.”

There is something wrong with people who need change. If you hang with people who like change, you should change who you hang with.

Some change is good: the change that forms you into Christ.

Fleshly motivated change is bad.

As my favorite hymn, Be Still My Soul, says

Be still, my soul; the hour is hastening on
When we shall be forever with the Lord,
When disappointment, grief, and fear are gone,
Sorrow forgot, love’s purest joys restored.
Be still, my soul; when change and tears are past,
All safe and blessed we shall meet at last.

Amen!

