Grace is Great Because People Are Stupid

Ever notice that never once was Jesus described as laughing, yet was said to be crying several times?

Our Savior was a man of sorrows and acquainted with grief.

Several times Our Lord showed Himself to be fed up with people. “O faithless and perverse generation, how long shall I be with you? how long shall I suffer you?

People are tiresome. I tire you. You tire me. We tire each other. Everyone is tired.

I get tired of being tired.

Jesus was not at home here. Any follower of His won’t be at home here either.

Jesus spoke the truth, not what people wanted to hear. When people addressed him with “Good Master,” He was immediately skeptical of what would come next. Usually He’d correct their compliment before tackling their issue.

Jesus didn’t believe compliments either.

Jesus spoke the truth, He didn’t speak out of sentimentalism. He didn’t speak to evoke a positive happy response all the time. He just spoke the truth.

I wish I could speak the truth as consistently. But I don’t. I get swayed by emotion, by peer pressure, by people-pleasing desires, and various things. I am stupid.

What I love about Jesus is that He already knows we’re stupid, yet loves us anyway. He understands our frame. Yes, it’s tiresome, but it also provides Him a great opportunity to show love and grace.

Jesus knows we’re stupid. “There is none who understands” the Bible says about us. We’re dumb. We are not what we ought to be.

While we were His enemies, Christ died for us. He showed us grace.

To clarify, God is gracious whether there are any dumb people or not. Also, in no way does grace make stupid something good. Just like sin, grace doesn’t make sin OK, even though sin needs grace. Stupid is stupid and has no redeeming qualities in itself.

That being said, if I were always right and always smart, you’d never get to show me grace. If you were always smart and right, I’d never get to show you grace.

No human can show grace to Jesus Christ. Jesus Christ never did anything that needed grace. He is full of grace and truth already.

Grace can only be shown to someone who is broken.

I am broken and I thank God through Jesus Christ that grace is freely given. Oh that we’d be more like Him and give each other some grace.

