Why I Don’t Trust the church: Because People Are Stupid

One of my underlying assumptions about life is: People are stupid.

People being stupid is a main reason why I trust the Bible, and it’s also the main reason why I don’t trust the church.

When I say “the church” I want to be clear what I mean.

By “the church” I mean the institutional church. What is sometimes called “the visible church.” The thing that people go to on Sunday mornings. The people, the official offices, the place, the money, etc.

When it comes to the institutional church, unfortunately, you shouldn’t trust it any more than you trust other human institutions. Human institutions are made up of people and people are stupid.

The church has true believers sprinkled throughout and there are many in the visible church who truly love you and care for your soul. But the church institution has shown over the years that it is messed up.

I, a church-going fellow, won’t apologize to you for the Crusades. I wasn’t in the Crusades. I have read a number of books on the Crusades, and all I can say is, “wow, those people were really stupid.”

Based on what I’ve seen in the Bible, there has always been a remnant of true believers. It’s never been a large number. When we look at Old Testament Israel, that numbered as the sand on the seashore, there was only a remnant of true believers. The same is true of the church today.

Jesus, in the parables of Matthew 13, said the same thing would exist in this age. This age will have a religious looking thing that will look huge, yet will have very few true believers in it.

Jesus said, “when the Son of man cometh, shall he find faith on the earth?” Jesus is not expecting this Christianity thing to work. Yup, Jesus thought people were stupid, too.

The visible church has spent much time and money on much foolishness. I do not trust the church.

The institutional church is largely more interested in your money and in doing what it wants you to do so it can feel special about itself, than it is concerned for your soul.

I wish it weren’t true, but it is. Many young people walk away from the church because, although young people are stupid, even they can see the church is corrupt. I can’t blame them.

The worst thing you can do is take the church’s word for it. The church rarely gives what God’s Word says. They have other interests in mind than God does.

Following church tradition is a really good way to end up in hell.

When Jesus was on earth, He spent little time railing on prostitutes and sinners, and plenty of time railing on religious types concerned with prolonging their religious institution. He railed on people who blindly followed human tradition.

You won’t get in heaven by being with the “right group.” You won’t get in heaven because you jumped through some church’s hoops.

You get in heaven by personally believing the Gospel of Jesus Christ. After that, you begin to try to help individuals in the church to become The Church, the Body of Christ.

I was close to walking out on the church. Didn’t go to church for several years in college. But it was then that I grounded my personal faith and knew I needed to do my part to help the church.

I ask you to join me in that. The church needs your help. God does not need any more people playing games with His stuff. He needs people to live by faith and make the church the most trustworthy institution on earth, which is done by making Christ ALL and us nothing.

One day it will be you and Him standing there looking at each other. No church will intervene. How will that meeting go?

One thought on “Why I Don’t Trust the church: Because People Are Stupid”

Comments are closed.