Throwing Like Girls and the Irony of Feminism

During the Super Bowl a commercial aired about throwing like a girl. The first half showed people apparently making fun of how girls’ throw, which all pretty much looked like how girls throw.

Then they brought in other girls who threw apparently not like girls throw, except, according to my wife, they looked a lot like the first group of girl throwers, just a tad more spasmodic.

The point of the commercial is that we are to celebrate girl power. Which apparently means: celebrate your girls when they look like boys.

At halftime, Katy Perry sang some songs, including one about how she kissed a girl and liked it, and she hoped her boyfriend didn’t mind that.

Again, this seems to be making the same point. Throughout all history boys have been kissing girls. But now girls are supposed to kiss girls and this is to be celebrated. Celebrate your girls when they act like boys.

They are supposed to throw like boys do and kiss girls like boys do.

These two separate, and yet related, demonstrations point out the biggest irony of feminism. Feminism says girls don’t have value unless they are like boys. I don’t get it. I thought that’s what they were against?

Although feminism hopes to make women equal with men (which is fine as far as rights go and whatnot), but really, in the end, they hope to make girls into boys.

I am a father of two girls. I love my girls. I think my girls are awesome. They are different from my son. They are even different from each other. I love them both, and I love what makes them different from each other, and what makes them different from their brother.

I have a daughter who can throw pretty well, better than most girls I’ve seen, and many boys. I also have a daughter who I taught to throw and has gotten much better, but still has some “issues.” They both know this. It’s not a secret.

In the end, however, they both throw like girls. They are girls. That’s how they throw.

Yes, some girls throw better than others, and some of those girls throw better than some boys. But notice this commercial did not air in a spot costing millions of dollars because so many people are watching girls play football. More irony.

I have never thought my girls were less human because they can’t throw like their brother. No disrespect to either of my daughters, but their brother could throw better than both of them combined when he was about four.

I am not worried about this. I don’t think they should be ashamed of this. I don’t think it is a character flaw in them. It’s just who they are. And it’s fine with me and seems to be fine with them.

Feminism is subtly telling every girl there is something wrong with them because they need to be more like boys. It’s ironic and ultimately quite sad.

I want my girls to do well in whatever they do. I want them to give it their all and take advantage of opportunities. In the end, I want them to be classy and godly women who understand what femininity is for.

How does it help to constantly tell girls they need to be more like boys? Let boys be boys. Let girls be girls. Boys don’t need to be girls, nor do girls need to be boys.

I love my daughters. I do not demand they throw better to see value in them. I love them because they are girls and girls have a lot to offer that no boy ever could.

I choose to honor them, not belittle them for not being a boy.

I am sick of this world. I really am.

1 thought on “Throwing Like Girls and the Irony of Feminism”

Comments are closed.