Though He Slay Me, Yet Will I Trust In Him

Earthly people are earthly minded. Following Jesus Christ, who is in heaven, makes no earthly sense. It’s the foolishness of being a fool for following Christ.

Unfortunately, The Church has not had the earthly success they were hoping for. We need more people and more money, and since people are not motivated by heavenly reward, we must offer them earthly reward to attract them.

So The Church says if you follow Jesus you will get lots of money, your boundaries will expand (not bodily boundaries incidentally, but property), your health care issues will be healed, your marriage will be constant sex and romantic dates, your kids will graduate at the top of their class and win awards in all sporting events, and you’ll just be all around successful in earthly endeavors.

This is awesomeness! Christianity, unfortunately, loses its heavenly character and becomes one more in a long line of earthly self-help systems.

Who needs Jesus though, when Oprah and Dr. Phil can give you the same results?

But Jesus did not come to earth so your earthly life would be successful. “These things I have spoken unto you, that in me ye might have peace. In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world.

Yes, the believer can have inner peace, but externally, life might be a disaster. As Paul says, “all that will live godly in Christ Jesus shall suffer persecution.

Yet, somehow, The Church has translated this is as “All who live in Jesus will have awesome experiences throughout their earthly existence and then heaven will be awesome earthly experiences times infinity, baby!”

I really don’t understand how we’ve done this.

Job was nailed, sitting in a pile of ashes scratching his diseased skin with a shard of pottery and he was able to say, “Though he slay me, yet will I trust in him.”

The Church today says, “Unless He gives me everything I want, I will not trust in Him.” If you are following Jesus for temporal benefit, you are not truly following Him.

Though he slay me, yet will I trust in him.

I fear The Church is unable to produce this sort of faith anymore.

