My Take On: “If Religion Died, So Would War.”

In the past couple days I have seen several times the notion that religion is the cause of war and strife in our world. If we eliminate religion; war would be gone.

There are elements of truth in the argument. Certainly religions and religious people have done many evil things. You can’t possibly deny that and maintain credibility.

What I find interesting is that it’s usually people of no religion who make this argument.

It would be like a soccer fan telling Bear and Packer fans to get along. “What’s the big deal? It’s just football. You know, if you just stopped liking football you’d be friends.”

Easy for you to say, you European, boring-sport lover.

If you have no dog in the fight, it’s easy to tell other dogs to relax. But what happens when your dog comes under attack?

There are plenty of non-religious people who cause violence, too. Many times the non-religious attack religious people! Why are non-religious people so hatefully adamant that religious people are screwing everything up? Why so angry? You seem to be defending your belief with some heat there, my friend.

In the end, telling people to just relax their beliefs so we all get along, isn’t really the issue.

It seems to me that the real issue is not how seriously you take your beliefs, but how seriously you take other people’s beliefs.

I care about what you believe. It’s one of the reasons I write and preach. But I’m not going to kill you for believing differently than me. In fact, I’m not even going to hit you, or throw anything at you for believing differently (I may throw things at you for other reasons, however).

Believe as you wish. You will stand before God. If I can’t make my case through my example and communication skills, I fail to see how using violence is going to help my cause.

I take my beliefs very seriously. I am, in the comfort of my home anyway, willing to die for them. I am not willing to kill you for having different beliefs. I don’t take your wrong beliefs as a personal affront.

My God is big enough to handle your non-belief. I am not threatened by your dismissal of Him. It’s your loss.

So, no, I don’t think telling religious people to relax their beliefs is the answer. Telling people to relax about other people’s beliefs might help.

For so is the will of God, that with well doing ye may put to silence the ignorance of foolish men

1 thought on “My Take On: “If Religion Died, So Would War.””

  1. I don’t think telling religious people to relax their beliefs is the answer. Telling people to relax about other people’s beliefs might help.

    A very insightful statement.

Comments are closed.