Left Behind Movies Should Be Left Behind

There is yet another Left Behind movie coming out soon. Reportedly starring Nicolas Cage, for some reason.

Yes, they did just put out a Left Behind movie not long ago. I thought Kirk Cameron beat this whole thing into the ground already?

No, I will not go to see it.

No, the theology will not be correct.

No, I don’t need to see it to know that its theology is not correct.

No, I don’t think Hollywood making “Christian” movies is a good thing.

Yes, I do believe in a rapture, a Tribulation, a Millennial Kingdom, and then a new heaven and new earth, and I believe it happens in that order, too.

No, I am not interested in hearing your alternative theory.

One of the themes in these movies is that when the rapture happens “millions” of people will disappear. That the rapture will remove so many people, that the world will be in chaos over it.

This is one area where the theology is wrong, I think.

There has always been a remnant (“remnant” means “not many” for those of you who read the NIV). When the Lord returns, will He find faith on the earth?

Noah is the first biblical example of the rapture (apart from Enoch, anyway). Noah and his family got in the ark and rose above God’s outpouring of wrath on the earth. Not many escaped the wrath.

Lot left before his town got blasted with God’s wrath, he couldn’t even get his whole family to leave with him. Not many escaped the wrath.

Trust me when I say, when the rapture happens, hardly anyone will notice. I’m quite sure most churches will still be full, and a few may wonder why the pastor is gone. But then football.

Don’t get your theology from Hollywood. Read the Bible. To understand End Times, know the books of Daniel, the portions of Jesus’ teachings about The End, 1 and 2 Thessalonians, and Revelation. Having a good grasp of OT prophets is helpful too, especially Isaiah.

If you don’t use all of that, you won’t make much sense out of eschatology. Also grasp that there is a difference between Israel and the Church, which you can get by reading the rest of the Bible.

Get your eschatology from the whole counsel of God. Do not support Hollywood’s sensationalism of theological concepts.

No, I don’t want to talk about it anymore. (And by “it,” I mean the movie, not the theology.)

3 thoughts on “Left Behind Movies Should Be Left Behind”

  1. It’s going to be interesting hearing you explain 1 Thess. 5 to someone unacquainted with “evangelical” eschatology!!

Comments are closed.