Bashing the Bible for Fun and Profit

Through my years in Christianity, I have been through many faddish Huge Issues. As I look back through Church History, I see that modern church trends started when the church did. The only difference is that we switch Huge Issues quicker.

Probably the first issue the church faced was disagreement over the person of Christ. Most of the first church councils were about who Christ was.

I’m glad the church started there. That is, indeed, a Huge Issue. That one lasted several hundred years. There is really no new thought about Christ anymore, it’s all been dealt with before.

I know the generations before me dealt with many other Huge Issues. Higher Criticism, ecumenical issues, the Fundamentalist’s issues, End Times issues, Charismatic gift issues, music issues, Calvinism, and now, this is my guess: the next Huge Issue will be a renewed attack on the Scriptures.

Notice I said “renewed.” Again, there is nothing new under the sun.

Calvinism has been the Huge Issue of the last 20 years or so. The argument is dying out. Everyone is tired now. So, we need a new one.

Several times in the last week I have heard people talk about Scripture not being inerrant, how Scripture really can’t be our authority, and we just need Jesus/God/The Spirit; not the Bible.

It has long been a conviction of mine that denominations were formed over an agreement on what verses to ignore.

Every reader of the Bible ignores some verses, and usually elevates others as Trump Verses. Because this verse says THIS, I don’t have to believe THAT. Never once considering that because that other verse says THAT, perhaps you shouldn’t believe THIS, if it’s that arbitrary.

Even more rare–few imagine that both verses that say THIS and THAT might both be true, and perhaps the essence of what faith is. Everything is good in its time.

So, some attempt to find a theological basis to ignore their verses. This is often humorous. Why are you using the Bible to prove you don’t have to listen to parts of the Bible?!

For instance, the other day I heard someone say he could ignore verses in the Bible because they “didn’t sound like Jesus.” We need Jesus not the Bible. Then he quoted the Bible where Jesus says, “You search the Scriptures for in them you think you have eternal life.”

That’s funny to me. If I don’t need the Bible, just Jesus, why do you quote the Bible to prove that? How does this guy know Jesus said that?! Was he there?

I understand that because of the proliferation of translations, there is much textual disagreement today, causing many to throw out inerrancy. I believe the Bible is inerrant in their original forms. I do not believe the KJV is inerrant, nor the New American Standard, nay, not even the hip ESV.

I am OK with understanding there may be copyist error here and there and poor translations. In fact, I don’t even know if English is exact enough to truly do justice to the exactness of Hebrew and Greek.

However, there are an abundance of really old original language documents that can give us good confidence that we have God’s Word. To undermine that is to ignore evidence and common sense.

If you disagree with that last paragraph, that’s fine. I agree with it.

If Christians decide that we can’t trust the Bible, all we need is our individual “sense” of “who Jesus is,” we’re in huge trouble.

Anything goes. Nothing matters. You are your own god, which is what people have long wanted, and is what is at the heart of most attacks against the Bible.

I don’t mind a scholarly analyzation of textual criticism that seeks to find meaning and reliability, but I do mind people changing Scriptures for their own fleshly lust, or just to make noise so they can sell books.

I understand not wanting to seriously consider stuff in the Bible. There’s plenty of stuff in there I don’t want to do either. But to go to the extent to eliminate the Scriptures so you can do that thing the Bible clearly says not to do, you’re in trouble.

2 thoughts on “Bashing the Bible for Fun and Profit”

  1. For instance, the other day I heard someone say he could ignore verses in the Bible because they “didn’t sound like Jesus.” We need Jesus not the Bible. Then he quoted the Bible where Jesus says, “You search the Scriptures for in them you think you have eternal life.”

    I recently came across a blogger who was insisting that we should only follow Jesus’ teaching and that Paul’s teaching had distorted the gospel message. At the end of his post, to add weight to his ideas, he insisted that his readers be like the Bereans and study.
    I wonder if that would be the same Bereans who listened to Paul then searched the scriptures to check the validity of what he was teaching, and as a result many of them believed.

Comments are closed.