Get Out of Your Father’s House for Spiritual Growth

When God separated Abram to be His Guy, He said this to Abram;

Get thee out of thy country, and from thy kindred, and from thy father’s house,

Perhaps these words are still vital for us today?

There is a trend of young people staying in their parent’s house. I can see how this is advantageous, but I can also see how it hinders growth.

When you know there’s a fallback place, it makes it easier to call it quits.

Some have left the nest and then discovered that life is tough, they can’t handle it, and some get in with the wrong crowd and believe the lies of the world.

I can see coming home for a refresher course. I get that.

But, seriously, spiritual growth is an individual thing. Families need to let their young people go, maybe even kick their young people out.

Get moving. Live. Make mistakes. Learn. Be in a place of loneliness where you have you and the Lord, that’s it. That’s where faith is tested. Do you trust Him?

Over and over in Scripture we find the guys whom God used greatly, separate from family roots.

There are exceptions to every rule, but for the most part, you won’t find your spot in the sun sitting in the shade of the family tree.

I had a great family growing up. They knew I needed to leave. I knew I needed to leave. It worked out well. I moved to a new state. Threw myself out there and was terrified.

It was one of the best things I ever did in my life.

There doesn’t need to be rebellion, or meanness, or anger. Family is there to help. One of the best ways family can help is by knowing when to go!

All of this advice is especially for young men. Notice the words of Christ:

If any man come to me, and hate not his father, and mother, and wife, and children, and brethren, and sisters, yea, and his own life also, he cannot be my disciple.

Although He says to hate these various members of your family, even your wife, note he never says “husband!” This is either because He’s talking to men, or it’s because wives are to honor their husbands. Either way, this is especially important advice for young men.

Young men. Get out of your parents house. Your faith needs this.

One thought on “Get Out of Your Father’s House for Spiritual Growth”

Comments are closed.