The Gospel and the Wasp Killer

Each summer we have a wasp nest on our house somewhere. This year they chose to make their nest in a crack under a wooden ramp that leads to our patio door.

A dumber location could not possibly have been chosen.

People go in and out that door approximately 4,000 times a day.

Now, I have no problem with wasps if they leave me alone. I actually had no idea there were wasps around this year because I couldn’t see their nest, as they built it inside a crack between the porch and the house.

But one day I leaned over with my foot on the wooden ramp to tie my shoe and ZAP! One got me.

A couple days later my son got bit. Then my daughter. Then my son again.

In an effort to “protect” their nest and thus ensure a longer life, they have now made themselves so odious in our sight that they must be destroyed.

So, one evening I yanked the wooden ramp off and away from their nest in the crack. And then took off running.

The next evening I got a broom and swept junk out of the corner to better discern exactly where the nest was in the crack. And then took off running.

This evening, when it is dark and cold and all the little wasps are sleeping peacefully in their little wasp beds, I will spray a gallon of wasp killer into that crack and wipe them all out.

If the little wasps had just carried on, not been so defensive, and let us pass over their nest as many times as we liked (since we didn’t know it was there), they could have lived forever.

But nope, they went and got defensive, tried to keep themselves safe, and now they must die.

Jesus said, “For whosoever will save his life shall lose it: and whosoever will lose his life for my sake shall find it.

As soon as we defend our lives, try to ensure self-preservation, make a stink about how awesome we are, and how you better back off, we become odious to God. Wrath will follow, after a time of patient waiting for you to come to your senses.

I gave the wasps warning. I told em they were done for if they didn’t stop. They should be seeing the “signs of the times” that bad things are coming their way. But bugs are dumb, merely instinctual, whereas humans have the ability to change instinct, to cut off self-preservation, repent, and be saved.

And that he died for all, that they which live should not henceforth live unto themselves,
but unto him which died for them, and rose again.

Don’t attack Him; give your life to Him and be saved.

