The Plus Side of Being a Heretic

Yesterday I asked the question: where is the verse that says Christ took the wrath of God for us?

More than likely, by asking the question, you have already determined that I don’t think Christ took the wrath of God for us.

All I did was ask the question where the verse was.

It isn’t there, by the way.

That doesn’t mean there aren’t some verses that the idea can be extrapolated from. But to say that “Christ took the wrath of God for us” is not to speak in accordance with anything God said.

As I said earlier this week, I like to say things the way God said it in the Bible. To me, that’s the safest place to base doctrine.

If God didn’t put it that way, I hesitate to put it that way.

I’m cool with the “chastisement of our peace was upon Him.” I’m cool with the idea of “it pleased the Lord to bruise him.” I’m OK with that, because that’s what God says.

But “Christ took the wrath of God for us” is putting words in God’s mouth, which I don’t think is a good idea.

More than likely, I am now heretic scum for having even dared ask the question.

In fact, I actually wrote yesterday’s post two weeks ago. Since then I have been looking at stuff about the subject.

I have seen the statement made many times (“Christ took the wrath of God for us”) and have yet to see one Bible passage that actually says that.

But I did find a commentary on Romans 3 talk about the atonement and he said Christ took the wrath for us and then listed all kinds of verses, none of which said “Christ took the wrath of God for us.”

Immediately after saying that Christ took the wrath of God for us and listing all manner of verses (none of which said that), the author says “It has ever been the first step to heresy–the denial that divine wrath for sin fell on Christ.”

So, there ya go! Don’t disagree with me otherwise you’ll disagree with lots of other people.

Anytime someone has to use “if you deny what I believe you are on your way to being a heretic” you’ve run into “in the box” thinking.

“Heresy” is a word that means “party, sect, or disunion.” In other words, a heretic is someone who doesn’t agree with your group!

Being labeled a heretic by someone aint all bad, especially if the one calling you a heretic is a nutjob! Paul even said heresies were good because it would show who was approved.

I’m pretty sure God will be happy to see that you put some time, energy, thought, and care into what you believe, even if it puts you at odds with one group or another that thinks you’re a heretic. At least you think about what you believe.

