Did God Pour Wrath on Christ? Chapter and Verse Please

It is standard Christian belief that God poured out the wrath that we deserved on Christ.

Whenever I hear “standard Christian beliefs” I get nervous.

I am of the opinion that the more people say a thing, the more likely it is that thing is false. There is a red flag attached with lockstep.

The idea is extended so that the God of the Old Testament is a God of wrath, just can’t wait to kill people for having fun. Then Jesus came and held back the Father from killing us, so God killed Jesus instead, and is much happier now that the orgy of anger is over.

How this got to be standard Christian belief is beyond me.

I was recently thinking on this and looked up those times where “wrath” and “Christ” are brought up together in the Bible (used the default KJV).

For God hath not appointed us to wrath, but to obtain salvation by our Lord Jesus Christ,

That’s the only occurrence of “Christ” and “wrath” showing up together. It’s a cool verse, and says nothing about Jesus taking our wrath for us.

I searched “Jesus” and “wrath” and got the above verse plus

And to wait for his Son from heaven, whom he raised from the dead, even Jesus, which delivered us from the wrath to come.

So, neither verse says anything about Christ taking our wrath, but both clearly state Christ delivers us from wrath.

I looked up “son” and “wrath” and came up with one additional verse

He that believeth on the Son hath everlasting life: and he that believeth not the Son shall not see life; but the wrath of God abideth on him.

Again, a cool verse that also does not say Christ took God’s wrath for us. What it does say is that belief in Christ removes wrath.

What about “blood” and “wrath,” thinking of the shed blood of Christ. One verse.

Much more then, being now justified by his blood, we shall be saved from wrath through him.

His blood was shed to save us from God’s wrath, but again no mention of Christ taking God’s wrath.

“Cross” and “wrath” return no verses. “Crucif-(with all endings)” and “wrath” return zero verses.

Isaiah 53 would seem to be a crucial passage here. No mention of “wrath” or “anger” there.

I also skimmed all the verses with “wrath” in it in the NT. Nothing there about Christ taking God’s wrath.

Seems to me, when the cross, or crucifixion, or Jesus Christ and what He did for us, is spoken of, it is most often in reference to the love of God than the wrath of God.

I wonder why we shove wrath in there instead of Love?

Feel free to counter-argue. This is a theory I am testing, examining one more oft-repeated, seldom thought about Christian statement. One of my favorite hobbies!

2 thoughts on “Did God Pour Wrath on Christ? Chapter and Verse Please”

  1. I remember thinking as a kid, “I wonder where this is in the Bible?”, whenever I heard people in my church talking about doctrine. This is cool!

  2. Far too many commonly accepted beliefs have absolutely no biblical foundation. To me that gives us a HUGE reason to make sure we search the scriptures for ourselves.

Comments are closed.