How to Find Truth

A radio program I heard told me that eating beef was the most destructive thing a guy can do to the environment. This is allegedly based on the amount of land area it takes to raise and feed a cow.

At the end of the discussion, it turns out that three of the four people who conducted the study were vegetarians.

Now, this doesn’t necessarily mean their findings were wrong, but it sure does make a guy more skeptical!

I was reading a book written by economists about finding the truth.

These guys have gotten in trouble in the past because their facts often buck up against what people believe is true.

One of their tips for finding the truth is that you need to set aside your beliefs and just look at the data.

In other words, you can’t come with a hope that you’ll get a desired answer, because that will skew your objectivity. You can’t have a dog in the fight, cuz if you do, you’ll root for your dog.

Seems to me the same would hold true for finding right doctrine.

Undoubtedly it’s a horrible thing to tell Christians to “set aside your beliefs.” But I honestly believe that’s the best way to go about it.

If you already know that Once Saved Always Saved is true, when you read the Bible you will only notice verses that buck up your side. If you think OSAS is false, you will only see those verses that prove it’s false.

If a guy truly wanted to think about the issue and find out what the Bible says, his best option is to forsake all leanings and go read the Book and find out.

Easier said than done.

Setting aside a belief might terrify you. Going through the process of admitting you don’t know can be scary. You might even get labeled a heretic, or worse, for admitting you “don’t know” right now.

Personally thinking about what you personally believe is hugely important though. The more you take others word for it, or fight for your party, the less truth you are likely to hold in the end.

2 thoughts on “How to Find Truth”

  1. Thanks for this Jeff.
    I learned the hard way.

    I went through a crisis of faith where I came close to even doubting God’s existence. It seems to have started when I could no longer ignore contradictions in the Christian message I was being taught.
    Eventually, after 15 years away from any Christian contact I came to realise that the contradictions were in the teaching and not in the scriptures.

    While it took a long time to get to that point, at least I came out of the crisis with a relatively clean slate and I had the opportunity to start afresh. It’s now been another 15 years during which I’ve aimed to give scripture itself the prominent place in developing my understanding of God and His purposes, instead of scripture experienced only through the teaching of others.

    In the pre-crisis days I had a sizable arsenal of texts to support arguments for my beliefs, however I have since realised that those texts were learned from sermons and not from my own bible study. As a result my understanding of those texts was informed by the context of the sermon and NOT by the legitimate context of scripture itself and so in most cases I had been misusing them.
    I therefore learned from experience how important it is to address scripture for ourselves instead of relying on others to do it for us.

  2. Oh my, you’re reading my spiritual nightmares again! Like being thrown from a ship into the water when you can’t swim. Oh my, this entry……….

Comments are closed.