God Remembers that We Are Dust

God knows everything.

Depending on how you look at it, this can be a good or a bad thing.

If God knows everything, then He knows everything about you–your thoughts, acts and words. Depending on what that is like, God’s knowledge may be terrifying!

On the other hand, God’s knowledge may give you comfort.

You either find God appealing or terrifying. I think the Bible expresses these thoughts.

As the hart panteth after the water brooks, so panteth my soul after thee, O God.My soul thirsteth for God, for the living God: when shall I come and appear before God?

Here the Psalmist finds God appealing, can’t wait to appear before Him.

In Psalm 139 the psalmist talks about all that God knows and says, “Such knowledge is too wonderful for me; it is high, I cannot attain unto it.Whither shall I go from thy spirit? or whither shall I flee from thy presence?

God knows all these things, so where can I go to get away from Him?!

His answer is–nowhere. But by the end of the Psalm he says

Search me, O God, and know my heart: try me, and know my thoughts:And see if there be any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.

God knows everything about us. If we were perfect, this would present no problem. But we’re not perfect, so we need to know something about God that might draw us to Him even though He knows our sin.

It’s the goodness of God that leads men to repentance. God is good. God is gracious, merciful, slow to anger and willing to forgive. If God were bad and knew everything, we’re in serious trouble.

For he knoweth our frame; he remembereth that we are dust.

One of the things God knows about us is that we are dirt. He graciously desires to make us new creations in Christ, to remove our sin and bring us into right relationship with Him.

This is a great thing to know about God knowing us!

