My Yoke is Easy and My Burden is Light

Creation lets us know there is a God. The Son, Jesus Christ, reveals to us who the Father is. In order to know the Father we take our weary, heavy-laden selves to the Son.

What does that mean?

Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls.

The point of coming is to learn. We learn from Christ and He reveals to us who the Father is.

We have a burden, we come to Christ and yoke ourselves with Him. A yoke is a thing that binds two things together to pull a weight. Notice Jesus doesn’t say He eliminates your burden; He says He’ll pull it with you. He has a burden, but it’s light.

It is my contention that the burden is the burning desire to know God that was never helped by anyone or anything but Christ alone. Jesus doesn’t eliminate the burden; Jesus helps us with the burden. He also eliminates all the other stupid options that were wearing us out before. What a blessing that is!

As long as we’re on earth we are not with the Father fully, therefore, this burden of knowing Him remains.

However, with Christ, I am yoked with Him, being moved toward the Father and this gives me rest knowing that one day I will be like Him for I shall see Him as He is! What a day! It’s that day that pushes me through these days.

