Grace, Contentment And Good Works

Grace is all about giving. God gives us stuff. The reason He gives us stuff is because we are weak. His primary area of concern is in our spiritual weakness. He often uses physical weakness to get across spiritual points.

It is when we are humbled, when we see our weakness (and all physical weakness is a result of sin in our world and its effects, which is why we need grace), that God gives grace.

Our weakness and inability leads us to our good God, who then gives grace that is sufficient. God gives all sorts of stuff with His grace.

It’s all centered in the person of Christ. For God so loved the world that He gave His only Son. This is His ultimate gift. But in this one gift, the manifold abundance of His grace is on display.

“He that spared not his own Son, but delivered him up for us all, how shall he not with him also freely give us all things?”

God’s grace is sufficient. Sufficient means to have enough, to have all you need. If you’ve got all you need, what is the result?

Contentment is the result. In fact, the same Greek word that is translated “sufficient” by the KJV, is the same Greek word translated “content.”

This is where I think language is fascinating! Having sufficiency=being content.

“Godliness with contentment is great gain.” The root word of “contentment” is the Greek word translated “sufficient” in 2 Corinthians 12, “My grace is sufficient.”

Two verses after “godliness with contentment,” Paul says, “And having food and raiment let us be therewith content.” “Content” is the same word as “sufficient.”

Hey, I got all I need! If I have all I need, then I’m not focused on me and my needs, those are already met. Especially since I now see that my spiritual needs are far greater than my physical needs. He transforms our perspective with this.

Since my needs are met, I can esteem others better than myself. I can give of myself for the benefit of others. I won’t be selfishly fighting for my stuff; I can rather use my stuff to benefit others.

Hebrews 13:5 uses the same word for content and sufficient, “be content with such things as ye have: for he hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee.”

God is always with me. I don’t need to fuss and fight about getting more. Since I have Christ, I can part with anything else in service to Him for the sake of others.

Christ is our ultimate example of this:

For ye know the grace of our Lord Jesus Christ, that, though he was rich, yet for your sakes he became poor, that ye through his poverty might be rich.”

Why could Christ afford to give up His stuff for our benefit? Because He has His Father and heaven and doesn’t mind giving up his earthly life and sacrificing His fleshly body for us. His grace gives us this same perspective.

Man, so much here. I’ve gone too long. Cool stuff.

