Grace Gives

Grace is often linked with giving in the Bible.

God’s favor is not just happy thoughts, “Ooo, I’m so glad God likes me.”

Grace is an active word and it never comes alone. Grace gives. “He giveth more grace.” “For by grace are you saved through faith, that not of yourselves it is a gift of God.”

When Paul tries to get the Church in Corinth to give money for the poor saints in Jerusalem, he uses the word “grace” to mean their gift of money. “Who was also chosen of the churches to travel with us with this grace.” “Grace” means their gift of money to be taken to Jerusalem.

When Jacob returned home, he was afraid his brother Esau would still hate him. Jacob put herds of cattle and sheep out front as a gift. Esau asks Jacob, “What’s with the gift of animals?” Jacob says, “These are to find grace in the sight of my lord.”

When the NT uses the word “gift” it often uses “charisma,” a Greek word with “charis” as the root word. Charis is Greek for “grace.”

One way to know that you have an idea what grace is, is because you begin to be gracious. To be gracious means you are giving. You don’t put yourself first, but put others ahead of you. You put them in a place of favor. When you favor someone, you give them stuff.

I favor my wife over all women. One way you can see this is because I give her stuff. I favor my kids over all other kids. You can know this because I give them stuff.

You know you have God’s grace when He gives you stuff. However, we must be careful here! This is no health and wealth Gospel! He gives us what we need spiritually.

“Now our Lord Jesus Christ himself, and God, even our Father, which hath loved us, and hath given us everlasting consolation and good hope through grace

