Who is Jesus: He’s Not Who You Think He Is

One of our modern-day poets, a Mr. Eminem, once said,

“And I am, whatever you say I am
If I wasn’t, then why would I say I am?”

Let me assure you, Jesus never said these words. Jesus is not what you say He is; Jesus is who He said He is.

Jesus has been portrayed as a pretty boy, a football player, a lover, a rock climber, and all manner of other things. He isn’t. He’s God in the flesh. He was born as a Jew to a Jewish mother in first century Israel. He lived a sinless life that the world couldn’t handle.

The world killed Jesus.

I want that to sink in. I know we know that, but really, let that sink in. The world could not handle God in the flesh. And, let’s not forget, He was being meek, gentle and humble while in the flesh! Still the world couldn’t handle Him.

Jesus does not like what is going on in our world. He despises what man esteems. He told His followers, “Woe unto you, when all men shall speak well of you!”

We understand, “Woe unto you, scribes, Pharisees, hypocrites,” we even know enough to hate those guys. But He speaks a woe to those who are universally liked? Yup.

Jesus is a complex person. His ways are fascinating to examine.

Jesus doesn’t care about your theories about Him. He does not strive to meet your expectations for Him.

Jesus is who He is, and He’s been the same since forever.

Jesus does not change upon meeting us; we change upon meeting Him.

There are all manner of voices telling you who Jesus is. We are measured by how well we conform to who those voices said Jesus is.

But remember, we don’t get points with God for how well we conform to other people’s opinions.

I cannot explain to you all that Christ is. I, nor anyone else, is the end of your seeking for Christ. People can help, but they can never take the place of you knowing Christ.

God is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him. He doesn’t reward for diligently seeking what someone else said about Him.

“But let him that glorieth glory in this, that he understandeth and knoweth me,
that I am the Lord which exercise lovingkindness, judgment, and righteousness, in the earth:
for in these things I delight, saith the Lord.”

2 thoughts on “Who is Jesus: He’s Not Who You Think He Is”

Comments are closed.