What Is Christianity?

Christianity is a pursuit of Christ. Without Christ, you just have ianity, and that aint nothing.

When Christ was on earth gathering disciples, He didn’t say to them, “Follow my rules.” He didn’t say, “Follow my 12 step program to freedom from sinful bondage.”

No, when Christ called disciples He said, “Follow me.”

Now, we need to be careful here. Many nod their head to these sentiments, “That’s right, man, it’s not a religion it’s a relationship.”

Be careful, Christianity is, by any sensible defining of words, a religion.

When Christ said, “Follow me,” He also meant they were to adhere to His teachings and obey His commands.

Following the person of Christ does not mean not following rules; it means following Christ’s rules. If the rules take precedent over the person, yes, we have problems.

One of the fundamental questions Jesus asked His disciples was, “whom say ye that I am?” That same question remains fundamental in our day.

Who you think Christ is will determine your Christianity. Christianity is a following of Christ.

Unfortunately, and I say this as humbly as I can, not many have a true understanding of who the Bible says Christ is.

The versions of Christ in people’s heads are not always consistent with the Christ revealed in the Bible.

Yet, the Christ of the imagination is followed, and the follower consoles himself, “well, I’m just following Jesus.”

We have asked for years, “What would Jesus do?” And our particular version of Him has given us our answers that we follow. Perhaps the better question to ask is, “Would Jesus really do what you think Jesus would do?”

Christianity is a seeking and a following of Christ. It is nothing else than that. It is of utmost importance that we seek the Christ of the Bible and follow Him.

3 thoughts on “What Is Christianity?”

  1. I was gonna make some joke about the close proximity of the two words, but I passed on it. Thanks for thinking like-mindedly!

  2. I have to say I thought the same about the “typo” until I read the comment above and then I understood. It’s quite a profound and appropriate piece of wordplay.

Comments are closed.