Son of God Movie: Another Passing Fad

I’m not a fan of the Son of God movie, or The Passion of the Christ, or the new Noah flick. I will never like Hollywood’s depiction of anything in the Bible, for the same reason I don’t want public schools teaching creation–they have no idea what they are talking about and do it disservice.

In all honesty, I didn’t know about the Son of God movie until this past Monday when I heard people talking about it. I decided I should know what’s up.

So I looked into it, and what I found bugged me. I voiced my opinion (which I wrote on Monday and appeared on this blog Tuesday and Wednesday).

Tuesday’s post, I didn’t even read until after I posted it and got some negative feedback for my admittedly harsh response. I should not have used the phrase “millions of brainless Christians,” and, more than likely, should not have referred to the film as “filth.” Whitened sepulcher would have sufficed.

After thinking on it, here is my stand that I may not have communicated as effectively as possible, and even this will, no doubt, fall short of my intent.

When Jesus was on earth, He did not rail against homosexuals, abusive government, tax collectors or prostitutes. Yes, He did tell many of these sinners to “go and sin no more,” but He never got too worked up about seeing sin in the world; as if He expected to see it there.

What did get a rise out of Jesus, continually, was people playing at being righteous. He railed against people making money off His Father’s temple (which was a figure of Christ). He railed against false teachers and the wolves in sheep’s clothing. He was bugged by those who made a God of their own liking and patted themselves on the back for honoring him.

One gets the sense He is far more concerned with what those talking about Him and His Father are doing, than with what the blatant sinners are doing.

Rated R movies are being honest–RESTRICTED AUDIENCE–what you are about to see is sinful yuck, even we sinners who made it think so.

Movies about Jesus are far more dangerous, in my mind. They give the impression they are showing you Jesus and depicting what the Bible says, but they rarely do.

Yet churches are supposed to buy out theaters, and use the newly published Son of God study guides, and do weeks of sermons on the movie, and show clips, and invite it right into the church.

The Jesus of the Son of God movie is not the Jesus in the Bible. Sure, there are some commonalities, some details they got right, but in general, they completely misunderstand Christ.

Since they misunderstand Christ, they create a Jesus of their own making. They tell a story about the Jesus they wish had shown up.

If anyone comes to Christ because of this movie, they will first have to deconstruct the false Jesus this movie portrays.

I’m not all that concerned about this movie, I won’t mention it again, because it will fade away as The Passion of the Christ did, either with or without the producer’s ensuing anti-semitic tirades and character implosions, that is yet to be seen.

In the end, the Bible stands. Rest there.

“Heaven and earth shall pass away,
but my words shall not pass away.”

“He that rejecteth me, and receiveth not my words,
hath one that judgeth him:
the word that I have spoken,
the same shall judge him in the last day.

2 thoughts on “Son of God Movie: Another Passing Fad”

  1. Jeff,

    I get you. I am with you. Thank you for putting it out there and causing some to think about this stuff a little deeper.

    I appreciate your blog everyday.

    Davy

Comments are closed.