A History of The Temple of God in 10 Short Points

Here is a brief sketch of the Temple of God:

Building a temple for God is first proposed by David
“See now, I dwell in an house of cedar, but the ark of God dwelleth within curtains.”

God tells David, “I don’t think so.”
Shalt thou build me an house for me to dwell in?”

God has a better idea:
“Also the Lord telleth thee that he will make thee an house.”

God says that a son from the seed of David will build the house:
“I will set up thy seed after thee. . . He shall build an house for my name, and I will stablish the throne of his kingdom for ever.”

Most people think God is talking about Solomon, which He is, sort of, Solomon is only a type though. Did Solomon’s kingdom last forever?
“the Lord said unto Solomon, Forasmuch as this is done of thee, and thou hast not kept my covenant and my statutes, which I have commanded thee, I will surely rend the kingdom from thee, and will give it to thy servant.

Even when Solomon built the temple, he acknowledged its limitations:
“But will God indeed dwell on the earth? behold, the heaven and heaven of heavens cannot contain thee; how much less this house that I have builded?”

Therefore, the temple that Solomon built can’t be the ultimate fulfillment of Temple Prophecy, nor the actual residence of God, nor can Solomon be the seed of David God said would build a temple. Jesus Christ was.
“Jesus answered and said unto them, Destroy this temple, and in three days I will raise it up.Then said the Jews, Forty and six years was this temple in building, and wilt thou rear it up in three days?But he spake of the temple of his body.”

The temple of the OT was a type, picture or shadow of greater spiritual things. Jesus Christ is the ultimate temple, eternal in heaven, not made with hands:
“And I saw no temple therein: for the Lord God Almighty and the Lamb are the temple of it.

All believers are placed into the Body of Christ and collectively become the temple of God and this has implications:
“And what agreement hath the temple of God with idols? for ye are the temple of the living God; as God hath said, I will dwell in them, and walk in them; and I will be their God, and they shall be my people.Wherefore come out from among them, and be ye separate, saith the Lord, and touch not the unclean thing; and I will receive you.”

There are many, many laws written in the OT about keeping the temple clean and pure, and that was just keeping the picture pure! Imagine how much God cares about keeping the actual Temple, the Body of Christ, pure!
“If any man defile the temple of God, him shall God destroy; for the temple of God is holy, which temple ye are.”

Be careful out there, Church.

