Shortened Church Service for 49ers Playoff Game

A pastor who is a 49ers’ fan did a reduced-time church service last Sunday to be able to see the 49ers playoff game. The video of the event is making waves on the internet.

This appears to me to be a planned thing, people are too quick with responses, he gets the church’s name in there for a quick plug (how many pastors say their church’s name before a sermon?). I think he was just having fun.

I suppose each pastor needs to consider carefully what sort of fun he allows himself in and with church. I would not be able to do what he did. If anything, I’m the kind of guy who will push the service longer just to see people squirm. That’s what I call fun!

I know I’m supposed to be offended and talk about the idolatry of football in America, but I don’t know. This is a publicity stunt and I see no reason to waste outraged energy over dumb stuff. He will give an account to God. I’ll leave him in those hands.

“And David said unto Gad, I am in a great strait: let us fall now into the hand of the Lord; for his mercies are great: and let me not fall into the hand of man.”

1 thought on “Shortened Church Service for 49ers Playoff Game”

  1. However, I will add the since he made light of Communion, he might be getting himself in trouble there. Taking the cup and bread unworthily is a bad idea and I’d have to say that he pushes it with that. So, publicity stunt or not, he should not make light of the Lord’s Supper. In fact, in 1 Corinthians 11:28-34 where Paul gives the warning about taking communion unworthily, the issue at hand is tarrying for one another! Wait! Don’t rush through and rob others their portion. So, on that count, I might shoot out a bit of a warning.

Comments are closed.