What to do When God Isn’t Opening Your Door

Speaking of open doors, Sunday night my children did something to the doorknob on our bathroom door, preventing a person from being able to exit the bathroom. Although I didn’t mind this for a few hours, I began to get hungry.

I unscrewed the old doorknob, leaving a hole in the bathroom door where a new doorknob can be installed. I was going to pick one up Monday morning, but one thing lead to another and alas, we still have no doorknob on our bathroom door.

I do not know what children do to doorknobs, but this is the second time they have ruined a doorknob on our bathroom door. And, yes, it is my fatherly judgment that it is entirely their fault. It is my right, nay, duty as a father to conclude such things.

There are many times in life where doors don’t open, when it appears as though all roads leading to your destination are closed. Perhaps God doesn’t want me to go there.

Christians have a way of making perseverance a “God thing” rather than a thing we should concern ourselves with.

Perseverance of the saints is believed by many to be entirely up to God to do. Although I sincerely believe God is the life-source of spiritual life, I believe the Bible makes it clear we have an obligation to do some stuff to stay alive, too.

Paul says we are to “continue in the faith.” In fact, he says it three times. Paul says we run the race, we fight the fight, we die daily, and many other effort-enducing commands. Hebrews tells us to lay aside everything that hinders and press on to the finish.

Paul often uses words about vigorous athletic activity. He uses many words about work and labor. There is considerable effort involved in the Christian life.

All too often, however, as soon as life gets tough, the Christian will quit and safely conclude, “Well, I guess it’s not God’s will that I do that then.” Or, “I just don’t feel lead to do that anymore.”

Gag.

In reality, you might just be a lazy wimp!

It’s an option worth considering.

There may be a reason your door aint opening. It might be someone else’s fault even. But guess what? It’s your door. Fix it. Get to work. Make the thing open. Don’t wimp out.

 Thou therefore endure hardness, as a good soldier of Jesus Christ.No man that warreth entangleth himself with the affairs of this life; that he may please him who hath chosen him to be a soldier.And if a man also strive for masteries, yet is he not crowned, except he strive lawfully.

5 thoughts on “What to do When God Isn’t Opening Your Door”

  1. It is interesting to read biographies of faithful Christians and to see what great obstacles they faced, and yet, they did not give up. There are many of these and I find them so encouraging.

  2. Well, I’m generally not as studious as you (though I did make it through Bonhoeffer!) but of course there are Joni, The Hiding Place, God’s Smuggler, and I like to read the series for kids: Christian Heroes: Now & Then because they’re easy–many good ones there like Hudson Taylor, George Muller, Gladys Aylward.., Some others–The Emancipation of Robert Sadler, The Heavenly Man. I read one about Amy Carmichael by Elisabeth Eliott. I also love everything written by Corrie Ten Boom. You really should make an exception to omitting women authors when it comes to her–a favorite is Tramp for the Lord. You have any to suggest?

  3. I don’t omit women authors, but it is a hurdle for me. I’ve been burned too many times by their books, but I still read em. I read a bunch of biographies of William Tyndale, best one was by Bruce Fish. The life of John Wesley by Telford. I have not read many biographies of church history people actually. Many of the ones I did read I either didn’t like the writing or didn’t like the person written about!

  4. Well, yeah, some can be kind of weird…and not always beautifully written–but, the good ones I re-read over the years and always gain new encouragement. The point here being that many faced adversity but didn’t think of that as a “closed door.” I just ordered the two you mentioned from half.com–we were just reading about Tyndale in homeschool & how he basically authored a bunch of the KJV (which we loveth.)

Comments are closed.