All the Dumb People in Your Past Might Not Have Been Dumb

When I was a kid I kind of thought my Dad was just weird. He said all this stuff to me that didn’t make sense. He had many phrases he’d repeat that I really didn’t get.

As I’d head out the door for school he’d say, “Don’t be afraid to learn something.”

As I came back home from school revved up from being around dorky friends all day, “Jeff, relax, you’re home now.”

At a stop light when the car in front didn’t get going when the light turned green, “It aint gettin any greener.”

When I took too long in the bathroom, “What, are you making a career out of it?”

Now that I am an old man, I find myself using all these phrases because I get them now. I assume my kids think I am the dumb one now.

Often when I see something “for the first time” in the Bible I say, “How come no one ever told me this?” I am assuming I heard, understood and remembered everything everyone ever said to me.

This can’t possibly be true. In our embarrassment for not getting it, we tend to blame others. “No one told me.” “Church is boring.” “The Bible isn’t relevant.” “The pastor just doesn’t speak to my situation.”

What we are really saying is, “I am a moron,” but we are too afraid to actually say that, so we blame others to make ourselves look a little better in our own estimation.

What is better is to admit you weren’t paying attention, that your mind was more concerned about other things at the time. Maybe even admit that you really weren’t even trying to know the Word or seek your God.

This requires a bit more humility, a more sober estimation of your powers, but I think it’s the better pathway to learning. Rather than blame the communicator, understand your role as the hearer.

How well do you listen? Are you humble enough to be corrected? Do you know that you don’t know everything? Are you even teachable?

God gives wisdom to those who ask for it: Are you humble enough to ask, or will you continue to bash the morons who couldn’t teach you?

