Exercise The Judgmental Nature of Love

Yesterday I did a post about a woman who is attempting to “keep it real” in church. I doubted highly the reality of the situation. This makes me an evil person.

“It’s all about love, Jeff, love accepts, man.” Not really.

Love does not rejoice in iniquity but rejoices in the truth. Love has a real problem with stupid sin. “Judge not” is about as far as most people go with their knowledge of what the Bible says about judging others.

Allow me to fill you in on a possible hole in your biblical knowledge, Philippians 1:9, “And this I pray, that your love may abound yet more and more in knowledge and in all judgment.”

Yup, love is judgmental. Love can make people very stupid. Love needs to be brought in check, knowledge and judgment are needed to keep love from excessive weirdness.

On top of that, the Bible tells us where to begin judging, where a love well stocked in knowledge and judgment can have some healthy exercise, “judgment must begin at the house of God.”

Judging others might be one of the best ways to show love, and judgment should begin with the people who claim to be God’s.

I have no problem with this woman being in church. There is no doubt, at all, whatsoever, that there are people she can help who would relate to her past. I have no problem with any of that.

What I do have a problem with, where my judgment-rich love starts, is having her be a leader in church. From everything I’ve read, she needs some learning before she carries on teaching.

“But look how many people go to hear her!” I know. Way more than go to hear me. (Ah, now we’ve gotten to the root of why Jeff judges her, eh).

The Church is in a very sad state. I don’t want to speak hyperbole, make outrageous anger inducing statements. I’m sort of beyond that. Now I just feel really sad for the Church.

We’re missing the boat and are now drowning. There is not much time left. Grow your love in knowledge and judgment.

“For the time is come that judgment must begin at the house of God: and if it first begin at us, what shall the end be of them that obey not the gospel of God?”

1 thought on “Exercise The Judgmental Nature of Love”

Comments are closed.