Home Repair Videos and Why I Don’t Care How Well Your Marketing Tells Me Your Big, Fancy Church Is Doing

Last week I tried replacing our kitchen faucet. Before attempting this project (because I am an idiot), I watched some videos on YouTube to see how hard it might be.

The first video I saw began with “Replacing your kitchen faucet is one of the easiest home repair projects you can attempt.” I knew right then I was in trouble.

I watched three videos on how to replace a faucet. Each video showed a wide cabinet to crawl in with no pipes or other obstructions remotely close to being in the way. Each showed handy water shut-off valves. Each showed how easy it was to unscrew the old faucet.

My cabinet is split down the middle, barely giving me room to get my shoulders through. My cabinet also has pipes running all over it, giving me even less room to maneuver. Not only did my faucet not unscrew nicely, the nuts were caulked to the counter, forcing me to take a hammer and knock the screws off the stupid faucet to get it to come out. Which then shifted the sink causing my one drain to leak more. I also pulled on one of the pipes in an attempt to dislodge my carcass from under the sink, which cracked one of the connectors causing a pipe to pop out so the other drain no longer drains into the drain but rather into a bucket.

My faucet didn’t work the first time because at some point someone had cut through our stainless steel sink and bent some stuff to get the old faucet to fit into it so the new faucet wouldn’t sit flat, forcing me to get outside assistance to help me bend my sink back into shape.

None of this was on YouTube.

I finished this job Thursday, however, both my drains still leak. I will attempt to get more outside help tomorrow to repair that.

Why is it that how-to videos never actually show you how things are really going to go? They look so easy and no one in their right mind should assume your project will go as the video demonstrates.

It reminds me of how Christian organization use mega-churches as the model for all churches to follow. We use the biggest, fanciest examples of how church, or youth groups, or evangelism outreaches go.

Slick videos show the hip pastor with the cool microphone that comes out his ear talking and the audience fully engaged and laughing and participating and heaven rejoicing over the slick, cool people and their totally awesome spiritualness.

Then I go to my church.

Does no one realize that most of this stuff is not remotely helpful or encouraging to anyone? Using mega-churches as our examples of what ministry looks like merely depresses everyone and causes resentment.

No one believes your church can possibly be that good anyway, we know you’re lying. Any one who is based in reality and has done the nitty gritty work of church knows your marketing is a bucket of propaganda.

I have yet to see the ministry marketing that shows your sermon interrupted by a person throwing up (been there). Never seen the video footage of the slick pastor talking to kids while one of the boys in the audience rips the biggest fart ever heard (been there as well).

There are many members in the body and no part of the body should tell all other members of the body to be like them. If all were an eye, where would the hearing be?

One Body; many members and all the members are different. Most of the members are pretty pathetic. If Jesus is OK with this, I imagine we should be too.

Let’s stop pretending we’re slick and let’s get real with how messy regular life is.

3 thoughts on “Home Repair Videos and Why I Don’t Care How Well Your Marketing Tells Me Your Big, Fancy Church Is Doing”

  1. It’s like those bestselling books revealing the secret to success/wealth/health/ making friends/influencing people etc. Some of them can sell millions, helping their authors to “prove” the validity of their methods.
    However out of those millions of readers the majority will never get close to the results promised by the authors.
    If only those “failures” could publish their experiences.

    Unfortunately there isn’t much of a market for hundreds of thousands of HONEST books about failing to find success/wealth/health/friends/ etc, while also going broke through buying too many “road to success” self- help books.

Comments are closed.