Self-Esteem and Your Father

Self-esteem is so widely accepted these days I sound like a complete fool even questioning it. Oh sure, people will admit there are problems with some of the self-esteem movement, but self-esteem is antithetical to Christianity?

Yeah, I really think it is.

1 Corinthians 1 talks about how God chooses the base things and the weak things to confound the wise and the mighty. Are you a base, weak thing? Does the self-esteem movement help you come to that conclusion?

When Paul follows up this passage by saying “no flesh should glory in his presence” yet you can’t stop talking about your skills and your talents and your awesome exercise regimen, how does this work? He goes on to say “He that glorieth, let him glory in the Lord.”

Yet you must share the latest awesome deed of your child and all the pictures of your latest trip and the new car and the remodeled house and on and on and on and on and on.

And I must tell you to read my blog and buy my book and send me nice comments and tell your friends about my awesome writing abilities, etc.

We can’t shut up about ourselves. We can’t stop glorying in ourselves. Apparently this is not a problem for most. Most have found ways to turn self-esteem into good doctrine, “Hey, I’m fearfully and wonderfully made, bro, just back off. I’m God’s child.”

Yeah, I know. If you were God’s child though, you’d act a lot like God’s Son who said “I seek not mine own will, but the will of the Father which hath sent me.” We are not here to gain our own glory but to act in a way where others “glorify your Father which is in heaven.”

Your self-esteem does have a lot to do with Christianity: it’s the biggest hurdle you must overcome to rightly view yourself in light of the grace of God. God gives grace to the humble and He resists the proud. Act accordingly.

