Self-Esteem Is Idolatry

My kids go to public school. I know, I know, I’m a horrible person–remember I have very bad self-esteem, so you don’t need to give me more reasons to down myself.

Every year of their schooling so far they have done projects (many a year) about themselves. They have done pictures, posters, poems, books, cards, etc where they list all the awesome things about themselves.

Usually, they will have other kids write down awesome things about them too. So they come home with a paper where little kids with horrible penmanship write “You are funny.” “You have nice clothes.” “You smile purty.” and such nonsense.

The attempt is to get kids to value one another, which is fine, I’d rather have them teach valuing others than valuing self, but still it seems there is something off about this too.

There are some verses in the Bible that should trouble you if you value people’s opinions. Here’s a great one:

“Ye are they which justify yourselves before men; but God knoweth your hearts: for that which is highly esteemed among men is abomination in the sight of God.”

What men highly esteem God thinks is an abomination. The word “abomination” has two ideas attached to it. The first means detestable. He hates it. The second links this word to idolatry. Esteeming something is idolatry.

Got that?

Allow me to repeat it since there are so many dumb people in the world who might not get it the first time (ooh, see? There’s that nasty sarcasm. I know, I know, I’m a horrible blog writer person.).

Esteeming something is idolatry.

Shall I repeat it one more time? OK, I will.

Esteeming something is idolatry.

Self-esteem is idolatry–just to clarify my point.

God’s opinion of our tremendous self-esteem is that we are doing nothing short of worshiping ourselves. Tell me this is not what self-esteem is?!

God is not pleased with our self-esteem.

