What Christian Living Looks Like

We are alive for one reason–to decide where we spend eternity.

I heard from a guy once who thought this was ridiculous. He was a Christian and he fought against the notion that life was all about whether we go to heaven. He said it devalued everything else we did.

“Yeah, it does,” I said. “Ever read Ecclesiastes? ‘Vanity, vanity, saith the preacher, vanity, vanity, all is vanity.’ He repeats that for a reason.”

“I refuse to believe that what I do is vain.”

OK.

Our biggest problem in life is pride. We think life is about me, me, me.

But you were given life. God created you, granted you life and a body that is alive. What will you do with it?

Will you live life as if it were a gift, or will you live it as though you own it? Are you the captain of your soul, or a steward of your soul?

The way you answer that question will have huge ramifications in how you live.

If you believe your life is yours, that you are here to “leave a mark” or “leave a legacy,” if you think your life is yours and you can do what you want with it, or that God wants you to be the best you you can be, your life will look a certain way.

If you believe you were bought with a price and you are not your own, that your life is hid, that it is no longer you but Christ, that you were crucified with Christ, that you see your own flesh life as a hated thing, if you deny yourself, renounce all of you so that you decrease and Christ increases, your life will look a certain way.

I’ve heard Christians come down on both sides of this issue. I fear that one group is truly missing the entire point.

You aren’t here for you. If that truly sunk in, if we embraced that clear biblical truth, our lives would look different. They would look more like God taking the form of a servant to serve others, not to be served.

6 thoughts on “What Christian Living Looks Like”

  1. When I was s kid, Stewardship Sunday meant that the pastor would pressure you for money and to volunteer at church. The last church, he never mentioned thus. Beginning to wonder what I learned!!!

    I’m glad you teach this without pushing for cash or time but I’m amazed at how much I never learned in 52 years!!

  2. in the end, giving money or time to a church may or may not be anything spiritual. I hesitate to tell people how to apply scripture in specific ways, I think that is where the Spirit enters. Our job is to serve Christ, not a pastor or a church.

Comments are closed.