Labor Day

Today is Labor Day in the good ol’ US of A. Why, I do not know. It has something to do with labor unions celebrating the working man, which sounds cheesy enough to make me believe it’s part of a communist plot.

The irony of Labor Day is that most people don’t labor.

The holiday was created by labor unions and its celebration is supposed to involve, and I quote from Wikipedia, “a street parade to exhibit to the public “the strength and spirit de corps of the trade and labor organizations.”

Yeah, it’s commi pinko.

I have no desire at all, whatsoever to celebrate people working. Sorry, don’t care. If people were doing this labor for free, ok, I’d celebrate, but they aren’t.

So, in honor of a holiday that means nothing but is supposed to be about labor, allow me to use it as a reminder that believers are supposed to be laboring for the Lord, which won’t be celebrated on this earth, but will be celebrated in eternity.

“Wherefore we labour, that, whether present or absent, we may be accepted of him.”

“Holding forth the word of life; that I may rejoice in the day of Christ, that I have not run in vain, neither laboured in vain.”

Whereunto I also labour, striving according to his working, which worketh in me mightily.”

 Let us labour therefore to enter into that rest, lest any man fall after the same example of unbelief.”

“For we are labourers together with God: ye are God’s husbandry, ye are God’s building.”

“Then saith he unto his disciples, The harvest truly is plenteous, but the labourers are few;Pray ye therefore the Lord of the harvest, that he will send forth labourers into his harvest.”

