Faith Is Not About Achieving Goals and Dreams

Generally when we talk about faith and risks, we tend to think I should have faith to do the things I want to do but am too afraid to do.

In other words, we think faith is riding a mountain bike down a steep, rock strewn hill or writing a book and selling it. Although this may require some faith to accomplish, it’s really not biblical faith.

Biblical faith has very little to do with convincing you to do stuff you’re too afraid to do, it’s more to do with obeying God.

For instance, I wrote a book about the Bible’s perspective on money. Here’s the problem with the book, a criticism I heard repeatedly–it’s not practical.

Indeed! At least I know they read it!

If believers listened to the Bible’s advice on money we wouldn’t have much of it and people would take advantage of us constantly.

It is highly impractical. Leading me to my point:

Faith is impractical.

We walk by faith not by sight. Walking by sight means everything is laid out before us and is all clear and rosy, very hard to diverge. It’s like a train on a train track. You know where you are going and you know where you aint going.

But walking by faith is just you and the wide open spaces. Oh, and God telling you where to go and what to do, and He might wait 25 years in between guideposts.

Faith comes by hearing and hearing by the word of God. Faith does not come by humanistic, rah-rah sessions of go-getterism. “You just need to believe and go get what’s yours!” Nu-uh. That’s not it.

Faith is all about, “Thus saith the Lord.” You can conjure up some notion of faith to accomplish a self-serving goal, but what requires true faith is to see that I am crucified with Christ, I am crucified to the world and the world to me.

Not only am I not living my life to achieve self-serving goals and ambitions, I am now living for a better country, setting my affections on things above and looking at what is unseen.

Totally impractical aint it? Yup, and that’s faith.

