Follow Jesus by Judging How Much Others Donate to the Church

There is a portion of the Gospels that has gotten much use over the years. The story goes that Jesus was watching people put money into the temple treasury and saw a poor widow put in a couple pennies. He makes a point to His disciples that she put in more than the rich guys.

The point of this story is always about how even the poor can give sacrificially and that sacrificial giving is truly good.

One thing that is never the point, and I’m not sure why, is that Jesus was sitting there watching people put money into the treasury! He was staring at people while they made their donations! That was His activity for the day!

Is that not odd?

Is there an application for us about this fact?

–Jesus sat watching the people put money into the treasury and He hasn’t stopped watching.

–Jesus sat watching the people put money into the treasury and pastors should watch how people make offerings in their church, maybe even single a few out for a sermon illustration.

–Jesus sat watching the people put money into the treasury and make sure you watch how much money the guy next to you puts in the offering plate.

–Jesus sat watching the people put money into the treasury, so you can be a judgmental tither too!

It seems odd that the Messiah, the Son of God, would sit and watch this activity, or does it? He obviously had a point, one which was counter-intuitive to His disciples and probably to us too.

There was a point to be made and He made it. I just wonder when we talk about “What Would Jesus Do” or “follow in the footsteps of Jesus” if we really mean that!?

7 thoughts on “Follow Jesus by Judging How Much Others Donate to the Church”

  1. 1. It shows He is interested in how much we give. He noticed some have much.

    2. It shows He is interested in how much we have left after we give. She gave all.

    Davy

  2. Many years ago I was Church Treasurer which meant I knew what most people gave each week / month in the collection. I found that aspect of the job quite difficult and to be honest preferred not to know as I found myself judging on occasions in a not very good manner!

  3. As a pastor, I have specifically requested to never know who gives what. There are several other people who take care of it and they never tell me and I never ask. I would have a hard time as well dealing with that knowledge. The temptation would be to treat well those who gave most and perhaps not tell them truth as well as despise those who aren’t doing their share. I prefer not to know. It fascinates me that Jesus sat there watching people put money in the treasury. That just blows me away!

Comments are closed.