The Blessing of Cynicism

“Love believes all things” is one of the toughest verses in the Bible for me to deal with. Really? All things? In my one Bible I have a cross-reference I wrote in next to that verse–Proverbs 14:15.

There is a way to reconcile both verses. I can give people the benefit of the doubt even as they speak what is false. I can believe them knowing that they are saying what they believe, and perhaps that’s where I can step in and help them believe what is right.

Over the years, I have been blessed to have people in my life who called me on stuff I said. I didn’t feel blessed at the time they pointed it out, but I see now, in hindsight, how blessed I was.

I was very sloppy with my thinking. I was sloppy with my biblical knowledge. I was sloppy with ways I communicated. I’m certainly not perfect in these things now, but these guys have truly helped me grow.

No one likes to be told they are wrong. No one likes to speak out what they believe only to be questioned on whether what they said was right.

It’s annoying. But hey, truth hurts! But the truth sets free!

Having my errors pointed out to me has taught me to think better, it has driven me to God’s Word desiring to know more.

Through this process, I have also been attuned to listening to what others say. I can’t stop my brain from analyzing what I hear. Even in this, I am learning how to do this. I can be wrong in my assumptions, my cynicism.

Part of me wants to apologize for calling out what I see as questionable statements. I hate being the bad guy, the guy who has a problem with everything.

I also hate stupid and I can’t keep quiet. I am grateful people have corrected my stupid and I merely desire to pass on the blessing!

The problem arises in doing so with love, that believes all things.

2 thoughts on “The Blessing of Cynicism”

  1. Isn’t it strange that God wrote rhe Bible in the same contradictory manner that peoplw would? Why would he say such different things? But, hey, there are 2 verses in the NT where one says to carry burdens and then it says don’t!

    I believe but just saying…

  2. Believing “all things” does not mean believing lies. It means believing all truth. “Whatsoever is not of faith is sin.” Faith believes in truth.

    Since the entrance of sin, we humans are born with a disposition to doubt God, and to think we know much better how to run this world and our own lives. We have believed the lies of Satan, and in many ways, still continue to believe them. This is what mars our lives and our conceptions of God, and our trust in Him.

    “Believing all things” shows that we have been recovered from the ruin of sin. “Man shall not live by bread alone but by EVERY word that proceeds from the mouth of God.”

Comments are closed.