Generally Speaking, Generalities are Too General

I’ve listened to Christians for many years, long enough to see outcomes in reality. I have learned that it is easy to say anything. Anyone can claim anything anywhere at anytime. Only time will tell if what they said is actually true.

Christians have a way of speaking where you clearly get the idea they are telling you what they think they should say rather than telling you the truth.

Since you can’t always tell what others want to hear, you speak in generalities, generic statements that sound impressive. The advantage of doing so is that no one has any clue what you are saying, but it sure sounds good and does a nice job making everyone impressed with your spiritual awesomeness.

Religion is easier if you speak in generalities. It sounds impressive and can’t be verified!

Much of this speech I consider to be Christian Fiction–stuff that sounds way too good to be true. Stuff I’ve heard enough and long enough ago to see it wasn’t true.

I have met exceptions to the rule, but they are few and far between. So, what are the general statements I am referring to? Here are a few to give the idea:

“I am spending time seeking God’s face.”
“I love God.”
“I just enjoy knowing Him and loving Him.”
“I need to get away and spend time with God.”
“I’m never lonely, Jesus is always with me.”
“God is always good to me.”
“I leave it all at Jesus’ feet.”
“I want to go deeper.”
“I gave it to God.”

I could go on, but I imagine I’ve offended you already, so I shall stop. I imagine a person could be sincere in saying these things, but in all honesty, I have no idea what any of these phrases really mean, practically speaking.

Since I don’t know what they mean, I certainly don’t know what you think they mean, therefore, they are meaningless generalities.

One of my favorites in regards to this was a person who said to me, “I won’t be at church because I am spending time with God. I do not know when I will be back.” I have no idea what that means, but it sure sounds like hooey.

People do long to know God more, and it is hard to put into words that don’t sound hokey to others. In the end, it doesn’t matter what you mean, I just hope there is actually something spiritual going on.

I’ve heard these phrases enough to know that generally speaking, they represent an ideal you wish were true and this is the fatal flaw–Symbolism over substance.

Hast though faith? Have it to yourself. Avoid general statements about your spiritual life. Keep it to a minimum. Have stuff you go through with God that only you and He know about. Don’t turn all your meetings with God into facebook posts.

No one knows what you are talking about anyway, but you’ve annoyed everyone by making us all feel inferior, and, in the end, I think that’s what most of these statements are designed to do.

One thought on “Generally Speaking, Generalities are Too General”

Comments are closed.