Lighten Up: God Already Knows You’re Stupid!

Questions can be asked for two reasons:

1) You think the other person is wrong and you want to see if you can get him to acknowledge that
2) You think the other person is right and you want to know what they know.

Both can be done well and both can be done horribly. When I was in junior high my mother would often warn me about my “tone of voice.” Now that I have junior high people in my house, I frequently give warnings about tone of voice.

My kids can ask intelligent questions and since their brains have recently begun working, they can even detect inconsistencies in me that provoke questions. I don’t mind this, but the wrong tone of voice changes things!

I am an authority to my children whether I am right or wrong. That being the case, even when I’m wrong, I’m still right!

But I am fallible, it’s one of the main ways God and I are different. God is never wrong and not just because He’s the authority: His Word is Truth! What He says is the way it is. If we ask Him questions thinking He is wrong, we might be pushing it.

But even here, God has been questioned many times by people who thought He was wrong–Nicodemus (can I enter my mother again?), Job, Jonah, Cain, and some others whom He was patient and gracious with.

Here’s the thing: God tells us to ask Him stuff! He wants us to. “Ask, and it shall be given you.” Remember that one? “Every one that asketh receiveth.” God knows we’re idiots, this is not a shock to Him.

“For he knoweth our frame; he remembereth that we are dust.” One of my favorite verses! God has already determined to be patient and gracious with His creation, to put up with our weakness and dullness.

You can push this, you can turn it into testing or perhaps think it means it’s ok to persist in your dumb. That would be a bad idea. God knows we don’t know stuff and He has no problem, at all, whatsoever, in us acknowledging that fact by asking a question.

God is big. We are small. God knows this. Asking questions of Him shows you know this too. There is faithful humility in a good question.

“If any of you lack wisdom, let him ask of God, that giveth to all men liberally, and upbraideth not; and it shall be given him. But let him ask in faith, nothing wavering. For he that wavereth is like a wave of the sea driven with the wind and tossed.”

