Having Fun is More Fun Than Repentance

I was at our local Fourth of July festivities in town yesterday, taking in a water ski show, when I heard an obnoxious pop song on the loudspeakers.

The song wasn’t real deep. It was a female singing about her life and her partying and how the rhythm of the night is the rhythm of her life. Whoo, whoo, yeah yeah. Etc. At one point the song said,

“I don’t wanna face the world in tears
Please think again
I’m on my knees
Sing that song for me
No reason to repent”

And my immediate thought was, “Wow, she must be a Christian.” Yup, even my thoughts I keep to myself are cynical.

This seems to be most people’s approach to their faith–I carry on, do my thing, feeling bad is for legalists. I just wanna be happy in my sin, so sing some happy songs and call it a day, so I don’t have to worry about it.

Kids grow up in this environment where the world is telling them sin isn’t wrong, why repent over what aint wrong? Then they go to church and pretty much hear the same thing. “Jesus loves you just the way you are. No reason to repent.”

Then we act shocked when so many kids walk away from the church (most of the rest hang around singing happy songs and carrying on in their sin).

The interesting thing about this song lyric is there is some self-loathing in the celebratory anthem of her life. Why is she bringing up repenting in the first place? Why is she on her knees worried about crying?

She knows the emptiness. She knows repentance is an option, she just wants to sing more so she doesn’t.

Christianity likes to have its sin and sin it too, just like the world. We both have inane songs telling us this is OK. We both know it isn’t, but we both are really good at keeping distracted so we don’t have to think about it.

“Wherefore come out from among them, and be ye separate, saith the Lord, and touch not the unclean thing; and I will receive you. And will be a Father unto you, and ye shall be my sons and daughters, saith the Lord Almighty.”

I wonder if He becomes a father to those who don’t separate themselves from unclean things? You won’t hear many songs about this truth, but it’s certainly in the Bible. Take some undistracted time to think this one over.

