Tornadoes, Prayer and Ricky Gervais

Ricky Gervais is a comedian and an atheist who enjoys picking on Christians. Atheism is the new Kabbalah. Remember how every celebrity was suddenly in Kabbalah for a while? Atheism is like sitting at the cool kid table.

I do not mind atheists picking on Christians. If there is a group of people in the world who need picking on, it’s Christians. After the recent tornado in Oklahoma, Gervais picked on faith yet again.

The spat began when Gervais put out a Tweet for his followers to donate money for victims of the tornado. This was followed by a “MTV News tweet reading, “Beyonce, Rihanna & Katy Perry send prayers to #Oklahoma #PrayForOklahoma.”

Gervais responded with another Tweet saying, “I feel like an idiot now, I only sent money.”

Christians, who are so busy being persecuted and living separate from the world, read this tweet and immediately got huffy. Gervais obviously is against prayer and thinks people who pray are doing nothing. I am outraged!

This is all quite comical, although the comedy was probably not intended by Gervais. I’m guessing Gervais does not know the book of James very well, but seems to me James would have tweeted the same point.

“If a brother or sister be naked, and destitute of daily food, And one of you say unto them, Depart in peace, be ye warmed and filled; notwithstanding ye give them not those things which are needful to the body; what doth it profit? Even so faith, if it hath not works, is dead, being alone.”

Gervais is right! Praying for Oklahoma with no intention of helping Oklahoma is pretty close to pointless, if not sinful hypocrisy.

Again, let me say, prayer does not exist so we can avoid consequences. If you build a house in Tornado Alley, you have to expect this sort of thing. You can pray to have God put a “hedge of protection” around your Tornado Alley house, but bushes probably won’t help either.

I ask in all seriousness, when you say, “I send my thoughts and prayers to you,” what are you expecting that to do?

In my experience with Christians, any time I’ve heard someone say this to me, I know they are saying it to be nice. I have also noted that everyone who has said this to me has never actually done anything nice to follow it up.

I’m not telling you not to pray. I’m telling you not to use throwaway lines to cover up your inaction. That’s called “hypocrisy” and God does not take kindly to that.

4 thoughts on “Tornadoes, Prayer and Ricky Gervais”

  1. Absolutely. I don’t mean to disparage the good that may be intended. Often I think it is said out of awkwardness–wanting to be encouraging and not knowing what to say. Sometimes it is said sincerely. It does no good to cynically dissect every statement directed at you.

    At the same time, I do think it’s a throwaway line that we should say with care and honesty. I would much prefer someone’s chocolate chip cookies than their thoughts, but that’s just me.

    My point is more to the saying of the phrase rather than being told it. Make sure it’s sincere when it is said and if at all possible, follow it with caring action.

Comments are closed.