Ticks, Mosquitoes and Judging Sin

Just pulled a tick out of my son’s head. In Northern Wisconsin, ticks are a risk. They carry Lyme’s disease and other increasingly bizarre diseases. They are nothing to mess around with.

I do not seem to attract ticks. Some think ticks don’t like everyone, that there’s some smell or something about certain people they don’t like (could just be I’m ticked off all the time). (Thank you, thank you, I’ll be here all week) (except tomorrow). But I’ve also found, and this is pure theory based on anecdotal evidence, that those who do not attract ticks seem to attract mosquitoes more!

Mosquitoes flock to me. I know other guys who hardly seem to be bothered by mosquitoes and yet they tend to get more ticks. Hmmm.

Bugs are annoying no matter what kind of bug they are. Those who attract ticks laugh at those who are constantly swatting mosquitoes away and those with all the mosquitoes laugh at the guy who is picking ticks off himself for half an hour every time he comes inside.

This is a manifestation of Bug Judgmentalism. “Why you swattin mosquitoes? They aint even bad?” “I don’t know, why you pickin ticks so much, I aint got a one.”

Yup, we all talk in that dialect when it comes to judging others. Similar to how we talk like a fat, Baptist preacher from the Deep South when we judge homosexuality, cussers and other sins that don’t affect us. Can I get an Amen? A-ha-men-ah.

Our ability to judge others’ experiences by our own is what gives Christians such a positive reputation among “sinners.” Since I do not struggle with homosexual or cussing temptations, I use all the more outrage against those who do.

However, when it comes to my favorite sins, I rarely mention them, don’t judge others on them and instead give others who don’t struggle with that sin an opportunity to return the judging favor.

Judging others harshly: it’s what makes the world go round.

There is a place for judgment, it’s goofy to deny that. But it must be done the right way and should always be done with “the spirit of meekness; considering thyself, lest thou also be tempted.”

I don’t think this temptation is limited to falling into the same sin you are judging, but being tempted to be proud and an arrogant jerk as we attempt to restore a sinful person.

Sin is a bad deal, it must be dealt with, and part of the Church’s job is to help one another overcome sin, which means pointing it out and helping battle it. Go gentle with it though, cuz we all gonna get bit by sumpin sometime.

