Living With a Dork Requires Patience. Ask My Wife.

My wife and I have been married for almost 17 years. Probably the stupidest thing I ever said to her happened when we were on our way to pick up our wedding rings in downtown St. Paul.

As Governor Jesse “The Mind” Ventura once said, “The streets of St. Paul were designed by drunk Irishmen.” He got in trouble for saying that, as happens when a guy speaks truth.

In the midst of missing our exit and always getting one-way streets going the opposite one way we needed, I got frustrated with my soon-to-be wife. “You don’t have to talk to me like I’m stupid” she said.

To which I replied, “Well, if you didn’t drive like you were stupid I wouldn’t.”

Sin really messes with stuff. We all know how sin brought death, created weeds, made men sweaty and women whiny during childbirth. We know how sin leads to consequences, we reap what we sow and how the sins of the fathers will be passed down to the third and fourth generations.

One of the aspects of sin’s mess we don’t often consider is what it does to God.

Before Noah’s ark, it repented God He had made humanity. They were evil continually and God had second thoughts about creating them.

Psalm 7 tells us God is angry with the wicked every day and Psalm 5 tells us God hates all workers of iniquity (even though Christians will continue to say “God hates sin but loves the sinner”).

We love that God is described as patient, kind, merciful, and willing to forgive. Perhaps we don’t think enough about His patience. Another word for “patience” is “longsuffering.” To suffer a long time.

When we sin, it causes God to suffer. I imagine we don’t think this is a big deal because God is “outside of time.” How long can “long” be for someone not impacted by time? I’m not sure we fully understand God’s relation to time well enough.

If God has no relation to time then He can’t be patient or longsuffering, two things the Bible describes Him as. God is also described as being jealous. He is not pleased that we serve another master.

My wife was patient with me in St. Paul, we did make it to the jeweler and we even made it to our wedding. Seventeen years later my wife has learned to put up with my dumb remarks and I am learning to not say (and perhaps not even think) as many hurtful comments.

Sin hurts people and it hurts God. Sin requires others and God to be longsuffering and patient with you. Next time you blithely sin, remember the patience on display by others and particularly that of God.

Your fleshly pleasure is suffering for another. Does that matter to you?

3 thoughts on “Living With a Dork Requires Patience. Ask My Wife.”

  1. This statement in particular jumped out at me.
    “If God has no relation to time then He can’t be patient or longsuffering, two things the Bible describes Him as.”

    I’ve often heard people saying how God is “outside of time” something I felt didn’t quite ring true, but I could never actually say why.

  2. Acts 13:18 puts it interestingly: “And about the time of forty years suffered he their manners in the wilderness.” He suffered or endured for 40 years with their manners! If God is outside of time that means nothing.

    In some way, the eternal God became entwined with time in creation and does indeed know what 40 years of suffering feels like! This is cool to me, if cool is the right word. It makes God relatable and is touched in some way with our experience and can relate to us in our “suffering.”

  3. I love your comment, “your fleshly pleasure is suffering for another.” This is a very true statement. If we really love God and if we really love others, then we should really make this statement matter in our daily choices! Good word.

Comments are closed.